East Of The Wall

East Of The Wall Debut “Detonator Gauntlet” Video, New Album “A Neutral Second” Due Out In June


Progressive metal collective East Of The Wall will have their sixth studio album, “A Neutral Second” out on June 30th via Translation Loss Records. Below you can check out the album’s first single “Detonator Gauntlet” alongside its official music video.

A Neutral Second” was recorded with the band’s bassist Chris Alfano behind the boards at the group’s Volume Fact recording/rehearsal space. Scott Evans (Thrice, Kowloon Walled City) was later tasked with mixing it. Alfano said of the record:

- Advertisement -

“For the first time in six albums, East Of The Wall had a single, consistent lineup composing a record from day ‘one’ through day ‘done’. The material flowed, well not effortlessly because these are still prog rock songs that can push the eight-minute barrier. But by the band’s standards, this was smooth sailing.”

As for this new single, Alfano told Decibel:

“Lyrically, ‘Detonator Gauntlet’ touches on themes of indoctrination, radicalization and hate mobs—ruminating on how people get wrapped up in those movements, and ultimately deciding that their motivations are kind of irrelevant compared to the outcomes of their actions. But personally, I also wanted to make this song and record more hopeful than our previous ones which were lyrical dirges, so there’s hopefully an undercurrent of resistance and positivity in there as well – at least, as optimistic as you’re likely to get from this band.”

A Neutral Second” track listing:

01 – “Detonator Gauntlet
02 – “Fawning
03 – “Spite Of Icarus
04 – “Momentum Mori
05 – “Reclamation Rites
06 – “Autosomal Recessive
07 – “Unfamiliar Glass Ceiling
08 – “Hegemony’s Dilemma

You can pre-order this album here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch