Power Trip, Creeping Death, Etc. Members Form New Band Fugitive


This past spring saw Power Trip guitarist Blake Ibanez speak on both the future of the beloved Texas thrash crossover group in the wake of the 2020 death of their vocalist Riley Gale and a new side project. It would appear that the latter has now officially been unveiled as Fugitive, a new outfit which finds Ibanez joined by Skourge‘s Seth Gilmore on vocals, Creeping Death‘s Lincoln Mullins on drums, Andy Messer (ANS, Stymie) on bass and Victor Gutierrez of Impalers on second guitar.

The band have already been in the studio and have also been preparing to make their live debut. Ibanez recently spoke of the project with the Dallas Observer, stating the following of it:

“I was able to find a niche where it sounds like the stuff that I write for Power Trip, but it’s different, and it’s a different tuning. It opens up some new doors for different types of songs and riffs. It was just kind of like a blank canvas. It was like, no rules.”

A debut EP from the self-described ‘thrash ‘n’ roll’ project is in the works with plans for 20 Buck Spin to issue physical formats. Among the tracks due to appear on it is a cover of Bathory‘s “Raise The Dead“.

Fugitive will be making their live debut at the ‘Wrecking Ball Madness‘ festival in Dallas, TX on August 13th. That event will be held at The Echo Lounge & Music Hall and is being presented by Texan death metallers Frozen Soul. The latter will co-headline the event alongside Municipal Waste.

Creeping Death, Malignant Altar, Sanguisugabogg, 200 Stab Wounds, Undeath, Vomit Forth, Tribal Gaze, No/Más and Intoxicated will round out the bill for that event.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch