ZaoJered Scott

Zao Detail Upcoming Rarities Set “Preface: Early Recordings 1995-1996”


Zao have set an October 09th release date for two of the four vinyl releases they have planned for this year. First up is “Preface: Early Recordings 1995-1996“, which compiles 14 early songs, many of which are previously unreleased. The band commented of that:

“14 recordings documenting the earliest days of the band. Opening with a set of previously unreleased demos fronted by founding vocalist Eric Reeder along with 2 tracks that appeared on The Tie That Binds 7”/Split CD.

- Advertisement -

The second set features 7 tracks fronted by vocalist Shawn Jonas. Including a previously unreleased alternate recording of All Else Failed standout Exchange and the Treadwater 7” version of song Repressed.

The CD format contains two bonus tracks from early Zao side project Monroe. Initially meant for a 7” back in 1996 that never came to fruition and are being shared for the first time ever as a part of this collection.

The source audio has been masterfully restored and given new life by Adam Boose at Cauliflower Audio. Album Lacquer Masters cut by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Service and vinyl pressed in Cleveland, Ohio at Gotta Groove Records.”

That effort runs as follows:

01 – “Conflict
02 – “Rest
03 – “Sickness
04 – “Increased
05 – “Deep
06 – “Flight
07 – “Security
08 – “Exchange
09 – “Sorrow
10 – “Need
11 – “Captive
12 – “Deep
13 – “Nobin
14 – “Repressed

You can expect it to arrive on October 09th with a stream of “Repressed” from it available below. October 09th will also see the release of a 25th anniversary vinyl pressing of the band’s 1995 debut album “All Else Failed“. It will feature the audio from the 2018 re-release of the album along with new artwork. Both offerings can be pre-ordered here.

Zao also have vinyl releases of “The Splinter Shards The Birth of Separation” and “Where Blood And Fire Bring Rest” planned for later in the year. A new album is also in the works as well.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch