Breaking BenjaminChris Yankton

Breaking Benjamin Tap Cold, Underoath, Saint Asonia, Etc. Members For New Album “Aurora”


Breaking Benjamin have announced a January 24th release date for their new album “Aurora“, which will find them reworking various songs from throughout their catalog in a more acoustic direction. For the occasion they’ve enlisted numerous guests, including:

Scooter Ward (Cold)
Spencer Chamberlain (Underoath)
Adam Gontier (Saint Asonia, ex-Three Days Grace)
Michael Barnes (Red)
Lacey Sturm (ex-Flyleaf)

- Advertisement -

Pre-order bundles for that record are available now at The band’s vocalist/guitarist Benjamin Burnley commented of this forthcoming record:

“This album is a celebration of our incredible fans; for those who have been there since hearing ‘So Cold‘ for the first time in 2004, and the new ones who have joined us on this amazing journey along the way. We’ve always shared a unique emotional connection to our music with our fans, and this album attributes to those dark times and euphoric ones. From wherever you joined along the road to Aurora, this one is for you. Thank you.”

The album’s various special guests also chimed in, here’s what they had to say about their involvement:

Lacey Sturm:

“I love the mystical kind of lyrics that a thousand different people can sing and each person feels like it was written just for them and what they are going through. This is the magic of Breaking Benjamin songs that I love. Ben asked me to sing on this acoustic version of ‘Dear Agony‘ at a time when singing the lyrics sliced through me in a deeply prophetic way. It was a revelatory and healing experience. I’m so thankful.”

Scooter Ward:

“I’m very honored and blessed to be a part of such a beautiful song and project. Ben’s writing has had a special place in our hearts for many years. Thankful to be a part of this.”

Adam Gontier:

Ben asked me to be a part of this record, and of course I said yes. We’ve been close friends for over 20 years, and Breaking Benjamin has been a big influence on me over the years. I’m REALLY stoked that Ben and I have finally found a way to get our voices on a track together. Also, ‘Dance With the Devil‘ is one of my favorite songs by anyone. Ever.”

Spencer Chamberlain:

“Touring with Breaking Benjamin was not only one of my favorite tours we’ve done in years but we also left the tour with life long friends. Being asked to sing on ‘Red Cold River‘ was very flattering and a complete honor. I love these guys as musicians and as people, I’m honored to be a small part of their journey.”

Michael Barnes:

“I was honored to be a part of Breaking Benjamin’s new acoustic record along side so many other amazing singers – can’t wait to hear the whole thing!”

The track listing and artwork for the outing can be found below. The band will mount this newly announced tour with Korn and Bones UK in support of it early next year.

01 – “So Cold
02 – “Failure” (feat. Michael Barnes of Red)
03 – “Far Away” (feat. Scooter Ward of Cold)
04 – “Angels Fall
05 – “Red Cold River” (feat. Spencer Chamberlain of Underoath)
06 – “Tourniquet
07 – “Dance With The Devil” (feat. Adam Gontier of Saint Asonia)
08 – “Never Again
09 – “Torn In Two
10 – “Dear Agony” (feat. Lacey Sturm)

A stream of the reworked version of “So Cold” is expected to launch this Friday, November 01st.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch