Motörhead's Lemmy

Motörhead’s Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Nomination Revised To Include Phil Campbell & Mikkey Dee


Motörhead‘s nomination for potential induction into the ‘Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame‘ next year was more bittersweet than expected. The initial nomination saw only the band’s early era lineup of late Lemmy Kilmister, Eddie Clarke and Phil Taylor included on the ballot—all of whom have passed on over the years.

Strangely omitted from the nomination though were longtime members Phil “Wizzö” Campbell and Mikkey Dee, both of whom spent over two decades in the group. At the time of the nomination earlier this week, Dee commented on the snub:

“That is pure wrong, I would say, and I know Phil will be very disappointed, too. We’ve been carrying the flag for 25 years together, and actually brought Motörhead to what it was. We did 25 years out of the 40.

The original band lasted just a few years (Clarke left in 1982, Taylor in 1984 and returned from 1987-92). They started it off, but as Lemmy said himself they wouldn’t have lasted another six months doing that lineup. I don’t think we would’ve been where we are today without the 25 years we spent touring.”

The good news arrived this weekend with the revelation that Dee and Campbell have both since been added to the nomination. The band’s camp commented on the revision yesterday, October 19th, offering:

“Thanks to everyone who spoke up loudly. Thanks to the #ROCKHALL2020 for listening and adding Phil & Mikkey. All for one and one for all!”

The nomination is the band’s first for the ‘Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame‘ and finds them up against a fairly healthy crop of metal and hard rock friendly groups, including Judas Priest, Soundgarden, Nine Inch Nails and Thin Lizzy. Daily fan voting is currently underway at this location from now through till January 10th. The 2020 induction ceremony will be held at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, OH on May 02nd, 2020.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch