Judas PriestJustin Borucki

Judas Priest, Motörhead, Nine Inch Nails, Soundgarden & More Nominated For 2020 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame


The nominees have been announced for induction into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame next year. Among those artists are several hard rock/metal mainstays, including:

Judas Priest
Nine Inch Nails
Thin Lizzy

Other artists also up for a spot in the hall include:

Pat Benatar
Dave Matthews Band
Depeche Mode
The Doobie Brothers
Whitney Houston
The Notorious B.I.G.
Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
Todd Rundgren
T. Rex

Fans can cast their vote online once daily via this location from now through till January 10th. The 2020 induction ceremony will be held at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, OH on May 02nd, 2020.

Meanwhile, a number of these nominees have spoken to the press about their new nominations, including Soundgarden guitarist Kim Thayil, who in part told Billboard:

“I thought this is important, especially for the legacy of Soundgarden, and for Chris‘ legacy. It’s really important now to understand this from the perspective of the fans and to understand Soundgarden as both a current enterprise as well as a posthumous exercise.”

Judas Priest frontman Rob Halford also spoke to Billboard on their own nomination, offering:

“It’s just another thrill, again, to be nominated, and so quickly because I know sometimes the nominations can get stretched out for quite a long period of time. So to get another one so quickly is wonderful and another great moment for the Priest and for our fans.”

Motörhead‘s Mikkey Dee commented to Billboard on their nomination:

“In my book, if anyone really deserves to be in that Hall of Fame, it’s Motörhead in so many ways because of the inspiration on thousands of bands.

Even the biggest of the biggest have been so influenced by Motörhead and Lemmy. It’s the real deal. If you talk to Ozzy, he thinks that Motörhead should have been in before Black Sabbath, even.”

Notably Dee and guitarist Phil Campbell are not included on the Motörhead nomination. Instead the nomination opted for the late Lemmy Kilmister, Eddie Clarke and Phil Taylor. Speaking on that snub, Dee commented:

“That is pure wrong, I would say, and I know Phil will be very disappointed, too. We’ve been carrying the flag for 25 years together, and actually brought Motörhead to what it was. We did 25 years out of the 40. The original band lasted just a few years (Clarke left in 1982, Taylor in 1984 and returned from 1987-92). They started it off, but as Lemmy said himself they wouldn’t have lasted another six months doing that lineup. I don’t think we would’ve been where we are today without the 25 years we spent touring.”

Though Nine Inch Nails mastermind Trent Reznor has participated in the Hall, most recently inducting The Cure earlier this year, he has had some disparaging things to say about the institution in the past. This latest nomination serves as the band’s third.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch