Mindless Self Indulgence's Jimmy Urine

Mindless Self Indulgence’s Jimmy Urine Taps Serj Tankian, Grimes, Gerard Way, Etc. For New Solo Album


Mindless Self Indulgence vocalist Jimmy Urine (aka James Euringer) will be releasing a new solo album under his given last name of Euringer on October 19th via Metropolis Records. The album is currently available to pre-order now via this location. A handful of guest spots have been recorded for the outing, including System Of A Down frontman Serj Tankian, Grimes, ex-My Chemical Romance vocalist Gerard Way and Euringer‘s wife, Chantal ClaretEuringer commented of his vision for the effort:

“I was having fun exploring my brain. And I wanted to invite my friends to have fun with me immersing myself in another time and space, bit by bit, gaining its form from my daily life into a surreal stream of consciousness. More specifically, I wanted it to sound as if Depeche Mode hired J. Dilla and DJ Premier to drop loops while Frank Zappa produced, and then I came in and shit all over it.”

Jimmy Urine and Tankian have a long history of working together, including their long-gestating British gangster film inspired Fuktronic project, which appears to have since evolved into an animated endeavor. Speaking of Tankian‘s guest spot on the album in a new feature running at, Urine mentioned that it took some inspiration from Rev. Martin Niemöller’s famous anti-Nazi sermon, ‘First They Came For The Socialists…‘. He continued to say about the track:

“…I wanted to write something a little bit political considering the climate, but not a whole record. Serj was in one of the most amazing politically charged bands of the last 20 years. He went through a whole bunch of lyrics and poetry that he had and screamed stuff for an hour. We had coffee, and I went home and edited [the parts] I liked. The point I’m trying to make [on the song] is that we should all stand up for fringe causes because once they’re gone, you’re next.”

Urine also told the aforementioned publication that he doesn’t plan to tour in support of the album, having recently moved form New York City to New Zealand where he is currently focused on a number of other projects. He also confirmed that Mindless Self Indulgence remain a band and will return at some point.

A stream of the new song song “Problematic” fcan be found below while the track listing for “Euringer” runs as follows:

01 – “Trigger Warning
02 – “If It Ain’t You Today It Will Be You Tomorrow” (feat. Serj Tankian)
03 – “Problematic
04 – “That’s How Jimmy Gets Down
05 – “Be Afraid Of Who You Are
06 – “Piece Of Me
07 – “Internal Organs
08 – “Wuthering Heights” (Kate Bush cover)
09 – “Detroit And Only Half Way Thru The Tour
10 – “Fuck Everything” (feat. Chantal Claret)
11 – “The Medicine Does Not Control Me” (feat. Grimes)
12 – “What A Fool Believes” (Doobie Brothers cover)
13 – “Do You Kiss Your Mama With That Mouth
14 – “Sailor In A Life Boat” (feat. Gerard Way)
15 – “Random Emo Top Line Generator
16 – “Two And A Half Years

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch