Latest News

RSS Link

Godflesh To Release New EP “Decline & Fall” In June, Justin K Broadrick Unsure What Djent Is

Godflesh will have a new EP titled “Decline & Fall” out on June 02nd. The groups much anticipated new studio album “A World Lit Only By Fire” will follow in late September with both releases due on band frontman Justin K Broadrick‘s own Avalanche Records.

Broadrick also has a signature 8-string guitar coming out, which he used on both releases. Its existence led some commenter’s to joke that the new Godflesh would be djent. In regards to that Broadrick replied:

“To answer a few questions here, firstly, I am unsure as to what Djent is! I have been playing an 8 string guitar for a few years now, first release that was 8 string was the Jesu Christmas‘ EP in 2010. All new Godflesh, both the EP and the new LP, were written and recorded with an 8 string, mainly due to the ability to tune even lower coupled with the capability to achieve more complex dissonant chords and riffs. On the latest jesu LP ‘Every day I….’, ‘The Great Leveller‘ is with 8 string guitar….”


  • Stereotypical Evil Archer

    Lots of metalheads don’t know what Djent is. It actually surprises me how many don’t.

    • WURST

      They play dumb. They know.

      • Stereotypical Evil Archer

        Ha ha!

      • Sniki

        And they actually look dumb when doing so. If it was true, how disconnected would they really be from current music? It’s not like djent is a ridiculously small sub-sub-subgenre played by 3 guys in a garage…

  • Stereotypical Evil Archer

    Godflesh is way heavier than Djent will ever be.

    • BEASTcoast

      Comment of the year

  • SiX50SiD

    valdjahra or…your door is ajar huh?….I actually enjoy that shi&

  • Aggroculture

    Broadrick has always done the “we have nothing to do with Fear Factory (or Korn, or whatever is popular right now)” thing.

    It’s called cementing your legend.

  • weakflesh

    I literally jumped off my couch while reading this. Holy fuck am I stoked.

  • Top Headlines

    1. Fans Fooled By Vinnie Paul (HELLYEAH, Etc.) Impersonator
    2. The Faceless Comment On Recent Departures
    3. Pro-Shot Footage Of Five Finger Death Punch, Killswitch Engage, Whitechapel, Etc. At ‘Knotfest’
    4. Mastodon’s Brent Hinds Dresses Up For ‘Late Show With David Letterman’ Performance
    5. Staind’s Aaron Lewis Flubs The National Anthem, After Criticizing Others For Doing The Same
  • Community Service

  • mrec-ad

  • NEW RELEASES 10.28.14

  • mrec-ad

  • mrec-ad

  • Facebook