RSS Link

Vision Of Disorder – The Cursed Remain Cursed

Candlelight Records 2012
Vision Of Disorder - The Cursed Remain Cursed

For all the righteous ruckus Vision Of Disorder raised in their heyday, commercial success always eluded their grasp. Staying just outside of the spotlight wasn’t exactly by choice however.

But rather a series of bad label relationships and a bold creative shift ultimately saw the band go their separate ways back in 2002. With some years apart and a string of successful reunion shows now behind them; these Long Island, NY natives have returned with their first studio album in over a decade.

Diehard fans take note: “The Cursed Remain Cursed” is largely a return to the confrontational metallic hardcore that gave “Imprint” its cult following.

While some elements of “From Bliss To Devastation” (see the crunchy riff in “Annihilator“;) and the refined vocal melodies of band offshoot Bloodsimple. creep in on occasion—their inclusion are more of a nod to the faithful than a defining trait.

The Cursed Remain Cursed” is very much centered around vicious grooves and reclusive melody. It may eschew traditional hardcore simplicity—but it certainly retains the defiant spirit. Tim Williams‘ wretched bellows spill forth tidal waves of abrasive lyrical bile. When he screams “give me hate, give me love, give me what I fucking deserve” on “Hard Times“; you can’t help but believe he thrives on negativity.

The callousness of his lyrical content may seem brash. But his imposing delivery is aided greatly by rigid pacing and creative phrasings. It’s not all hatred though. Some of his more reflective harmonies recall the lingering despair and hopeless longing that Alice In ChainsLayne Staley made a career out of.

With lunging serrated riffs full of sinew and grit and a gnashing rhythm section behind them; the rest of the band follow suit in venting their frustrations—dynamically unloading years of pent-up hostility. Truly this album is pretty much everything those who renounced “From Bliss To Devastation” have been waiting for. A combination of the raw intent of their eponymous album modernized with refined musicianship and greater contrast.

While it may damage their viability in the current climate, it’s refreshing to find no pandering to the metal scene of today. There’s no predictable bass drops or djenty binary riffing. Just blistering vitriol that has stewed long enough to become molten sludge. Given the density of the songs featured “The Cursed Remain Cursed” is not an album that is easily digested. Its brisk pace almost ensures a chance of it feeling compressed upon initial listens.

But with some proper attention, the effort more than lives up to the high bar the band have previously set. Truly Vision Of Disorder‘s long-awaited return sees them emerging even more fearsome. Older, wiser and unrelentingly caustic.

  • 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
    ( 30 votes, 4.60 stars )
    Loading ... Loading ...

Click the stars to rate this album.


  • dogsizedbird

    Sweet. I saw this band during the Imprint tour they co-headlined with Life Of Agony. I was right up front getting crushed against the railing. This band is pure violence live. Their performance inspired my teenage self to attempt to form a hardcore band with my friends who were mostly Korn and Metallica fans. Needless to say that didn’t work out well. Glad to see a return to form, I will definitely be picking this up.

  • xasafx

    Ahhh… That’s a relief! Imprint was the tits!

  • jayofdajungle

    I was already looking forward to this, but now I’m frothing at the mouth. Maybe the single most important band as far as me getting into hardcore.

    • Daniels0719

      Earth Crisis’s “Gomorrah’s Season Ends” did it for me! That lbum is fucking amazing!

      • xxdjpxx

        You mean when Earth Crisis was no longer a hardcore band? Gamorrah’s Season Ends is Earth Crisis’s From Bliss to Devestation. Likely the single most dissapointing album of all heavy music genres. Now Destroy the Machines and the Firestorm EP. Thats Hardcore

      • Daniels0719


        b4 you open your mouth know wtf your talkingabout. that s EC’s 2nd record your talking about slither (which came out 4 later in which dud estarts singing and shit) Gamorrahs came out in 1996 bro well b4 they went soft! get your game up brotha that comment was weak!

      • Daniels0719

        as afar as your “EP” you claim is tits theyre average at best! Destroy the machine sounds like 1 long song that never ends but you so desperately yearn for it to!

  • j from nj

    Like most VOD fans, they lost me after “Imprint”. But after hearing some of the songs they streamed, I am really excited for this.

  • Bitter Old Man

    Damnit I hate when a good review comes out several weeks before the album is actually released. But everything in the review is what I’d hoped to hear out of this. Should be good.

  • EyeOfEveryScorn

    I cant say I’m anymore excited than I alreasy was. I love this band and every album in their own way. Day 1 buy.

  • cma3585

    I like how there’s 9 user votes and not a single leak to be seen. Good stuff.

    • wookubus

      one was me!

    • jayofdajungle

      guilty as charged

  • Daniels0719

    I love me some VOD. Bloodsimple was decent. I dont expect this album being more than stella!

  • G Scotty

    Honestly listened to “Loveless” about 10 times in a row when i first heard it. I am not the type of person to play any song on repeat, but i was just overtaken by how kickass that track is. Cannot wait to hear the rest of this CD, damn you Wook for reviewing it before i got a chance to hear it to confirm! However, you had me at “largely a return to the confrontational metallic hardcore that gave “Imprint” its cult following.” If only we could have another Phil cameo…

  • Dropping The Oppressor

    Loooong-time fan! I can’t wait for this to come out.

  • They Ate Their Macaroons in Silence

    Sounds great!
    I’m not saying the first two tracks aren’t good, I’m just saying that if the songs were bacon, the first two are microwavable, and the rest of the album is crispy thick sliced dipped in maple syrup.

  • Bulletshock

    This album certainly didn’t disappoint. It is everything you expect from VOD. My fav track is the last one. The vocal change-ups are awesome.

  • PeAcE MiNuS 0Ne

    This album is PRP certifiably amazing. That’s how you should have wrote this review. Take notes, Wook.

  • Top Headlines

    1. Earnings & Attendance From Deftones, Tool, Meshuggah, ‘Mayhem Festival’, ‘Warped Tour’, Etc. Shows
    2. The Music Of Carcass & Goatwhore Shows Up On ‘Elementary’ TV Series
    3. Deftones Resume Writing New Album, Visited By Ex-Black Sabbath Drummer
    4. System Of A Down Drummer’s Tweets Continue To Make No Sense
    5. Metallica Perform “Sad But True” On ‘The Late Late Show With Craig Ferguson’
  • Community Service

  • mrec-ad

  • NEW RELEASES 11.25.14

  • mrec-ad

  • mrec-ad

  • Facebook