Escuela GrindD. Torrieri

Escuela Grind Premiere “Turbulence” Video, New Album “Dreams On Algorithms” Due In October (Updated)


Escuela Grind have had an October 18th release date set for their new album, “Dreams On Algorithms“. The song “Turbulence” is the latest single emerge from that effort, which the controversial power violence/hardcore hybrid tracked under producer Kurt Ballou (of Converge). A video for this song was shot with director Michael Jari Davidson and is available for viewing below.

Vocalist Katerina Economou commented of the album’s title:

“We wanted to write an album that identifies what it’s like to consume in this era we live in: what we receive through our phones, the social media landscape, and personalized algorithms, and how it is translated by our subconscious. I think most people can relate to something in their online sphere infecting their dreams. This transfer was something we really wanted to expand on, and all of the songs have themes relating to dream analysis and technology.”

Drummer Jesse Fuentes elaborated on this single, offering:

“I had the idea for the ‘Turbulence‘ title during a plane ride where I thought I was actually gonna die. My mind was fixated on landing and playing the next show. It helped me cope, and then it kept happening on a couple of flights after that. My last in-person conversation with Napalm Death‘s Shane Embury was very emotional; he suggested we add clean vocals after he overheard Katerina doing some clean singing on the tour bus (after shows, on our winter 2023 European tour with NxDx, everyone would sing along together. it really was magical). The vocal hook and melody on ‘Turbulence‘ was created a day before vocals were to be recorded at GodCity. We took that airplane experience, and wrote some straightforward, but meaningful lyrics.”

Economou added:

“It will be immediately obvious when you first hear this song that it is a departure for us. We wanted to take a risk with ‘Turbulence‘, and after performing so many live shows over the last year we were ready to compile all that influence. The clean singing may take some people off-guard coming from a grind/hardcore band, but after touring with Napalm Death, we realized we wanted to incorporate that aspect into our music in a similar way. We definitely wanted a grungy, catchy chorus to sing at all of our upcoming festival appearances, and I hope the fans like the song as much as we do.”

Dreams On Algorithms” track listing:

01 – “Doa
02 – “Always Watching You
03 – “Constant Passenger” (feat. The Acacia Strain)
04 – “Moral Injury
05 – “Concept Of God
06 – “Animus Multiform
07 – “Scorpion
08 – “Planned Obsolescence
09 – “Toothless
10 – “Turbulence

Pre-orders are available through

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch