The Black Dahlia MurderMarshall Wieczorek

The Black Dahlia Murder Debut “Aftermath” Music Video, New Album “Servitude” Due In September


The Black Dahlia Murder‘s first new album since the 2022 passing of Trevor Strnad has been titled “Servitude” and will receive a September 27th release via Metal Blade. The song “Aftermath” is the first single single to be launched from it by the melodic death metal outfit.

Guitarist/vocalist Brian Eschbach graduated to the lead vocal role in the wake of Strnad‘s death, while guitarist Ryan Knight rejoined the band in light of Eschbach vacating his guitar duties.

Production duties for “Servitude” were largely kept in-house with guitarist/vocalist Brandon Ellis overseeing the sessions at his own studio. Drums however were recorded under producer Mark Lewis (Cannibal Corpse, DevilDriver), who also assisted Ellis in mixing the album.

Speaking on carrying on without Strnad, Eschbach stated:

“Before the tragedy, no one ever thought this band was going to exist without Trevor. Everyone that’s in the band now is someone that Trevor and I searched for. We spent so much time on the road together that everyone understands the mission statement. We don’t really need to talk about it. We just need to make great music and try to make people happy playing it.”

As for his expanded role as a vocalist and lyricist, Eschbach offered:

“I just had to lean into it hard. Honestly, writing the lyrics for this album was easier for me than writing the music for the three songs that I wrote music for. I’d pick a subject, research it, and just kinda dive in. Even though it’s not something I’d really ever done before, there was a natural flow to it once I started.”

A music video for “Aftermath” was filmed with director David Brodsky (Cattle Decapitation, Deicide) and has just gone live below. Eschbach had the following to say regarding this track:

“We wanted that one to be heard first because it’s one of the faster songs on the album, if not the fastest. We wanted that very aggressive Black Dahlia melodic death metal feel coming right at you. Lyrically, it’s about a meteor that fucks up the whole planet, but there’s still people living. Kind of like The Walking Dead, but with no zombies-so you get right to how people deal with it. And by the end, they’re eating each other.”

Eschbach also weighed in on the daunting task of replacing his late bandmate and the reception he’s received since:

“More than pressures or expectations from the fanbase, I feel their trust and support. We’ve always done what we do for them, and they’ve appreciated our consistency over the years. The global outcry following Trevor‘s passing has shown us how important the band’s music has been to so many people, and how important it is that we continue in his honor. Under all that weight, I think we all knew what needed to be done.

We put in everything we had, and this is the album that felt right to make. I’m proud of it and proud of the five of us. You can never please everybody, but I know that this music will be a healing and positive force for those who embrace it!”

Ellis added:

“Following Trevor‘s legacy, ‘Servitude‘ of course marks the beginning of a new era of The Black Dahlia Murder. With Brian now taking up the torch, his personality as an inspired lyricist and vocalist shines bright-he knows well what the music needs. Ryan Knight‘s return to the band adds a third but familiar guitarist to the writing team, as well as allowing for a twin lead guitar element that the band never previously had. This all opens new terrain creatively. Where some doors have closed, new doors have opened.”

Plans have already been laid for the album’s next two follow-up singles ,with “Mammoth’s Hand” and “Panic Hysteria” next in line. The former is inspired by the 1982 film ‘The Beastmaster‘, as Eschbach explained:

“We usually like to give some idea of what kind of diversity is gonna be on the album with the first two tracks we release. Ryan Knight wrote the music for this, and the slow rhythm made me think of these barbaric warriors riding mammoths out in the snow or that scene from The Beastmaster when the Jun horde takes the village.”

As for the latter, Eschbach offered:

“It’s actually about rock n’ roll. I was reading quotes from Frank Sinatra, who really didn’t like rock n’ roll, and was pretty eloquent about it. I quoted him a couple of times in the song. That was a fun Sunday writing those lyrics. I’m not gonna lie-vodkas and Shirley Temples were involved.”

Servitude” track listing:

01 – “Evening Ephemeral
02 – “Panic Hysteric
03 – “Aftermath
04 – “Cursed Creator
05 – “An Intermission
06 – “Assering Dominion
07 – “Servitude
08 – “Mammoth’s Hand
09 – “Transcosmic Blueprint
10 – “Utopia Black

Pre-orders are available through

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch