DaathStephanie Cabral

Daath Announce Guest-Filled New Album “The Deceivers”, Debut “Hex Unending” Video


Progressive death metal band Dååth will have their first new album in fourteen years out on May 03rd through Metal Blade Records. “The Deceivers” has been chosen as the title for that outing. Guitarist Eyal Levi and vocalist Sean Zatorsky remain at the helm of the band’s return, with drummer Kerim “Krimh Lechner (Septicflesh, ex-Decapitated), guitarist Rafael Trujllo, bassist David Marvuglio, and synth/multi-instrumentalist Jesse Zuretti completing the roster .

An abundance of guest guitar solos will appear on this new record, with the following musicians having been tapped:

  • Jeff Loomis (ex-Nevermore/Arch Enemy)
  • Mark Holcomb (Periphery)
  • Dean Lamb (Archspire)
  • Per Nilsson (Scar Symmetry, Meshuggah)
  • Spiro Dussias (Platonist)
  • Dan Sugarman (Ice Nine Kills)

Additional sound design and synth from Mick Gordon (‘DOOM‘, ‘DOOM Eternal‘) appears on the song “Purified By Vengeance“. Levi took on the bulk of the production duties, while Andrew Wade (The Ghost Inside, Wage War) oversaw the vocal production. John Douglass engineered, Jens Bogren (At The Gates, DragonForce) mixed, and Tony Lindgren mastered.

The song “Hex Unending” has just arrived online from the record and a video directed by David Brodsky (Cannibal Corpse, Cattle Decapitation) for it can be seen below. Zatorsky commented of that track:

“It’s about shedding skin, cleansing the old me; reinventing, and carving a new path vocally, physically, and mentally. This song needed to be front and center on the record.”

Zuretti added:

“‘Hex Unending‘ is a track that combines all of the many eras of metal music at its peak — there’s catchiness, groove, power, virtuosity, and uncommon creativity coursing through its veins. It’s the sound of 2024 — it’s perfectly polished yet organic, it’s modern arrangement and composition leads you on unexpected paths — if we were to bet, this track will propel true metal back into the forefront of heavy music.”

As for the title of the album and its thematic connection to the band’s past albums, Levi stated:

“Those titles are about the outside world. They’re not about us. While they touch on the self-destruction and self-deception, we all occasionally fall victim to, this album is a scathing critique and exploration of certain societal elements. The deceivers and obstructers in life. Those who impede your progress through subterfuge and manipulation.”

The Deceivers” track listing:

01 – “No Rest No End
02 – “Hex Unending
03 – “Ascension
04 – “With Ill Desire
05 – “The Silent Foray
06 – “Unwelcome Return
07 – “Purified By Vengeance
08 – “Deserving Of The Grave
09 – “Into Forgotten Dirt

Pre-orders are available through

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch