Polaris To Release New Album “Fatalism” In September, Debut “Inhumane” Music Video


Australian metalcore group Polaris have premiered their new track “Inhumane” online. having previously debuted the track live, the band have now launched an official music video for it directed by Ed Reiss. It is the first track to emerge from their third studio album “Fatalism“, due out September 01st via Resist Records/SharpTone Records.

Drummer Daniel Furnari commented:

“‘Inhumane‘ reflects on the feeling of growing desensitized to death, violence and tragedy due to overexposure. I think for a lot of people over the last few years, when you’re facing a constant barrage of horrible news coming from every corner on a literal daily basis, eventually you reach a point where the initial shock and sadness wear off and you find yourself becoming almost numb to it.

It’s like a subconscious defense mechanism – when caring too much becomes too taxing, we stop caring at all. That hollow feeling, or lack of feeling, can come with a lot of guilt, making you question whether your empathy and your humanity have been erased, and in a strange way almost wishing you could feel that pang of fear or sadness again.”

He also weighed in on the accompanying music video:

“The music video for ‘Inhumane‘, conceived by our director Ed Reiss, takes that concept to a fantastical extreme, and features us falling through the floors of a collapsing apartment building, to find that new horrors (literally) await us on each level…It’s one of the wackiest (and bloodiest) ideas we’ve ever put on screen and I’m still kind of in disbelief that it came together!”

As for the album itself, he shared:

“For us, fatalism is the resignation to the idea that you have no control over certain things, that some things are almost pre-determined and inevitable, which seems like a negative and almost fearful notion. But one of the reasons I was drawn to it as a concept and as an album title was that there’s almost a freedom in that idea too. Once you can accept that there are certain things you simply can’t control – it’s actually very liberating.

We want people to feel a sense of connection to something outside of themselves when they hear this album. There’s a certain peace that comes with accepting that there are some things larger than yourself and redirecting that fear.”

Fatalism” track listing:

01 – “Harbinger
02 – “Nightmare
03 – “Parasites
04 – “Overflow
05 – “With Regards
06 – “Inhumane
07 – “The Crossfire
08 – “Dissipate
09 – “Aftertouch
10 – “Fault Line
11 – “All In Vain

Pre-orders can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch