Umbilicus (Cannibal Corpse, Etc.) Debut Eponymous New Track


Umblicius, the 70s rock-inspired outfit consisting of members of Cannibal Corpse, Deicide and more, have released the final advance single from their upcoming debut album “Path Of 1000 Suns“. The eponymously titled “Umbilicus” is the fourth track to emerge from the effort and is available below.

The group’s guitarist Taylor Nordberg commented of it:

- Advertisement -

“The story behind ‘Umbilicus‘ is pretty hilarious. When Paul, Vern, and I were jamming and writing at the Cannibal spot, we noticed this tiny little plant growing from the ceiling. Weeks went by and it got longer and longer and eventually it reached the floor. So we wrote a new tune at the time and it was dubbed Umbilicus, named after the plant, also because I had read the word when I was reading ‘It‘ by Stephen King and it may have been in one of the ‘Alien‘ movies as well… It eventually became the band name, too! You can hear a lyric in there about “..from a ceiling in Florida”. It’s a pretty fun song, musically and lyrically.”

Path Of 1000 Suns” will be out on September 30th.

Umbilicus lineup:

Vocals: Brian Stephenson (Fore, Old James)
Guitar: Taylor Nordberg (Inhuman Condition, Deicide, The Absence)
Bass: Vernon Blake (Anarchus, Napalm Death [live])
Drums: Paul Mazurkiewicz (Cannibal Corpse)

[via Metal Injection]

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch