IslanderSeth Meyers

Islander Release Guest-Filled New Album, Share “Skin Crawl” Lyric Video Featuring Korn, Zao & Living Sacrifice Members


Islander‘s guest-filled new album “It’s Not Easy Being Human” has officially been released via Better Noise Music. Accompanying that opus is the below new lyric video for the song “Skin Crawl“, which boasts guest spots from Korn guitarist Brian “Head” Welch, Zao vocalist Dan Weyandt and Living Sacrifice vocalist/guitarist Bruce Fitzhugh.

Islander vocalist Mikey Carvajal said of this new track:

“‘Skin Crawl‘ is a song about how trippy it is just to be alive. If you really think hard about life and death, I mean REALLY think about it, it’ll hurt your brain and make your skin crawl.”

Speaking of the album itself, he offered:

“It’s not easy being human. It’s something everyone can relate to. We know that this life isn’t easy, and as frequently as we’ve all heard the saying, ‘people are dealing with their own struggles that we may never know about,’ we want to actually apply that knowledge into choosing to be good to one another.

It’s as simple as the title says…It’s Not Easy Being Human, so we hope it encourages everyone to show each other a little grace in this crazy life. We included a ton of our friends on the record from Korn, Underoath, Zao, P.O.D., I Prevail, Bad Brains, Living Sacrifice, Lacey Sturm, Fire From The Gods, and Hyro The Hero.

I’ve always been interested in seeing my favorite artists work together and we wanted to do that on this record, by leaning on one another, supporting one another, and just having a musical party. We even had the wrestling icon Sting star in a video for one of the tracks. A lot of rap albums have guests all over them, so we were like ‘why not just do that with our friends?’

The track listing for the aforementioned album runs as follows:

01 – “We Scream” (feat. Spencer Chamberlain of Underoath)
02 – “Evil
03 – “It’s Not Easy Being Human” (feat. Lacey Sturm)
04 – “Lookin’ For Love
05 – “Lights, Camera, Action” (feat. Sonny Sandoval of P.O.D.)
06 – “Skin Crawl” (feat. Brian “Head” Welch of Korn, Dan Weyandt of Zao, Bruce Fitzhugh of Living Sacrifice)
07 – “Black Scorpion
08 – “Skateboard Flowers” (feat. HR of Bad Brains)
09 – “What Do You Gotta Lose?
10 – “Mayday
11 – “Crazy Crazy World
12 – “Y’all” (feat. Hyro The Hero)
13 – “My Friends” (feat. Eric Vanlerberghe of I Prevail)
14 – “Tear It Down
15 – “Freedom” (feat. AJ Channer of Fire From The Gods)
16 – “No Sleep
17 – “The Outsider

The band are presently out on tour promoting the album as part of the ‘Ragefest‘ with Attila, He Is Legend and Crown Magnetar. The dates for that include:

04/01 Omaha, NE – Slowdown
04/02 Oklahoma City, OK – Diamond Concert Hall
04/03 San Antonio, TX – Vibes Event Center
04/05 Tucson, AZ – 191 Toole
04/07 Hollywood, CA – Whisky A Go Go
04/08 Fresno, CA – Strummers
04/09 Berkeley, CA – Cornerstone
04/10 Santa Cruz, CA – Catalyst
04/11 Reno, NV – Virginia Street Brewhouse
04/13 Salt Lake City, UT – Soundwell
04/14 Grand Junction, CO – Mesa Theater
04/15 Colorado Springs, CO – Black Sheep
04/16 Lawrence, KS – Granada Theater
04/17 Springfield, MO – Outland Ballroom

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch