Rivers Of Nihil

Rivers Of Nihil Detail New Album “The Work”, Debut “Clean” Music Video


Rivers Of Nihil have premiered the music video for their track “Clean“, which is the first single from their upcoming album “The Work“. Metal Blade Records have a September 24th release date scheduled for the latter with pre-orders available now at

Speaking of the central concept behind the album, bassist/lyricist Adam Biggs offered:

“What does life all really boil down to in the end? You can be lovey-dovey about the good times, and savor the sweetness that life sometimes provides, but beneath everything is work, struggle, someone is always getting a raw deal, someone’s always sweating it out in the mines somewhere so you can enjoy your diamonds.

This has always proved true in everything I’ve ever done in life. Most people reading this know me as a member of a successful band, but beneath it is constant work. Physical, emotional, spiritual work. All the time. Every day.

And I know that it’s like this across the board for just about anyone in at least some capacity, so I figured this subject would be relatable to a lot of people.”

Recording sessions for the effort took place at the home studio of guitarist Brody Uttley and at Atrium Audio with Carson Slovak and Grant McFarland once again behind the boards for the latter. Additionally, McFarland plays cello on the track “The Void From Which No Sound Escapes“.

Other guest appearances include Black Crown Initiate vocalist James Dorton guests on the song “Episode“, and saxophone from Zach Strouse on several songs, including “The Void From Which No Sound Escapes“. Field recordings from Stephan Lopez also appear on the record.

Speaking further on the record, Biggs stated:

“We always just sort of do this thing and it grows. I guess that could change at some point. But thinking about things that way doesn’t seem to get me anywhere either. Better to focus on the work in front of us, as it turns out. If we’ve learned anything for certain in the last year or so, it’s that the future can be murky, we’re not really owed anything, and it can all be taken away any second. But for now, we press on.”

The Work” track listing:

01 – “The Tower (Theme From “The Work”)
02 – “Dreaming Black Clockwork
03 – “Wait
04 – “Focus
05 – “Clean
06 – “The Void From Which No Sound Escapes
07 – “MORE?
08 – “Tower 2
09 – “Episode
10 – “Maybe One Day
11 – “Terrestria IV: Work

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch