MastiffStewart Baxter

Mastiff Sign With eOne Music, Debut “Endless” Video


UK blackened sludge band Mastiff will be releasing their new album “Leave Me The Ashes Of The Earth” on September 10th through eOne Music. The recording sessions for that third full-length album from the group took place at No Studio with Joey Clayton (Pijn, Leeched) producing.

Mastiff commented:

- Advertisement -

“It still feels like some kind of fever-dream that we’re working with eOne on our new record. Collectively, some of our favorite bands of all time have been part of this label, so it’s absolutely mind-blowing that we might be spoken of in the same breath as them. Since conversations first began with the team, they’ve been so supportive and enthusiastic about our grotty little band and the album we’ve made.

We felt pretty sure that we’d made something quite special this time around and knowing that people with long and illustrious histories in the metal industry felt the same way – not to mention people who’ve worked with some of the genre’s biggest and best – it’s a pretty spectacular vote of confidence for five miserable miscreants from Hull.

Endless‘ is one of the earlier songs we wrote for the new record. It feels in a way like a microcosm of the whole album, in that it’s all over the place sonically yet somehow hangs together coherently. It goes from this shockingly anthemic — if not quite melodic — blackened opening, through a sinister chuggy bridge, and then ends in a chaotic, ‘90s-Converge-breakdown.

Lyrically, it’s a bit of a meditation on the helplessness that comes when a human being becomes an emotional bargaining chip in a broken-down relationship. Typical jolly Mastiff fare, really. We’re so disgustingly happy with how the video turned out too. Our old mate and Hull native Stew Baxter helped us put together a grimy, raw promo that feels in part a direct homage to some of the early-‘00s metalcore videos that inspired us so much back in the day, and part like a CCTV feed catching a crime against music on tape.”

Leave Me The Ashes Of The Earth” track listing:

01 – “The Hiss
02 – “Fail
03 – “Repulse
04 – “Midnight Creeper
05 – “Beige Sabbath
06 – “Futile
07 – “Endless
08 – “Scalped And Salted
09 – “Lung Rust

Pre-orders are available here. The band will also be touring the UK this fall with Calligram:

10/26 Bournemouth, UK – The Anvil
10/27 London, UK – Black Heart
10/28 Manchester, UK – Satan’s Hollow
10/29 Edinburgh, UK – Opium
10/30 Nottingham, UK – Soar
10/31 Sheffield, UK – Record Junkee

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch