Genghis TronScott Kinkade/Aaron Jones/Ryan Wagner

Genghis Tron Detail New Album “Dream Weapon”, Debut Video For Title Track


Genghis Tron have announced the coming March 26th arrival of their new album “Dream Weapon“. That outing was recorded and produced by Converge‘s Kurt Ballou with additional production and engineering by Ben Chisholm (Chelsea Wolfe, etc.) and JJ Heath.

It’s the first new album from the band in 13 years and the group have just dropped the Mount Emult (Dying Fetus, The Pixies) directed music video for the title track. The record finds guitarist Hamilton Jordan and keyboardist/programmer Michael Sochynsky joined by newcomers, vocalist Tony Wolski and drummer Nick Yacyshyn of Baptists/SUMAC fame.

Jordan said this album picks up their 2008 outing “Board Up The House” left off, offering:

“That album’s closing track, ‘Relief,’ was about how humans have become a burden to the planet, and how Earth will endure long after we’re gone. There is sadness at the end, but some relief—and beauty—too. ‘Dream Weapon‘ is, loosely, an album-length meditation on that theme.”

Speaking further on the record, Jordan offered:

“Though it sounds a bit different than our previous albums, I don’t think we approached ‘Dream Weapon‘ any differently than the others. Michael and I take years to write and trade demos, with about 80% of our ideas landing on the cutting-room floor. Once we have a rough song idea we both like, we write dozens of drafts of a song over months before we end up with a final demo.”

Sochynsky added:

“I think one difference in our approach for this album was that we had a strong sense from the outset of what kind of vibe we wanted to create. Something more cohesive, meditative and hypnotic.”

Dream Weapon” track listing:

01 – “Exit Perfect Mind
02 – “Pyrocene
03 – “Dream Weapon
04 – “Desert Stairs
05 – “Alone In The Heart Of The Light
06 – “Ritual Circle
07 – “Single Black Point
08 – “Great Mother

Pre-orders are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch