DeafheavenNicholas Sayers

Deafheaven Detail New Live In The Studio Album “10 Years Gone”, Stream “Daedalus” Performance


Deafheaven have shared some new details for their upcoming live in the studio album, “10 Years Gone“. The band had originally planned to celebrate their tenth anniversary on the road this year, but in the wake of COVID-19 concerns were forced to postpone that run.

While they had planned to capture their show Chicago, IL on that trek for a live album, the present reality instead saw them opt to capture their planned setlist live in the studio. That resulting effort will now see a December 04th release via Sargent House with a performance of “Daedalus” from it available below.

- Advertisement -

The band’s frontman George Clarke commented:

“Earlier this year we intended on celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Deafheaven demo released through Bandcamp on June 1, 2010 with a tour of North America with our friends Inter Arma, Greet Death and All Your Sisters.

Unfortunately, we couldn’t fulfill that tour because of fallout from the COVID-19 pandemic. To rebound from the financial and morale hit, we put together an album of the set we intended to perform.

Revisiting the songs in this studio sessions format with Jack Shirley at Atomic Garden reminded us of how important these years have been. I’m thankful we were able to give songs like ‘Daedalus,’ the first we wrote, and other favorites like ‘Vertigo‘ and ‘Kettle‘ new power after so many years of playing them.

They made me think of the people who played on them with us. For the first time we’ve included information on who played on what tracks and when they were originally released. We included thank yous in the liner notes to these musicians who’ve spent time with this project, on tour or on record and all of the touring crew, label support and management support who have helped us this past decade.

We’re thankful we were able to do this project and that fans have stuck with us as we make new music for 2021. Thank you for helping us move forward and I hope you enjoy this record as a small interim in the Deafheaven story. We’ll see you soon.”

10 Years Gone” track listing:

01 – “From The Kettle Onto The Coil
02 – “Daedalus
03 – “Vertigo
04 – “Language Games
05 – “Glint
06 – “Baby Blue
07 – “The Pecan Tree
08 – “Dream House