Retox, Qui, Etc. Members Unite In Cunts, Hear “A Hero’s Welcome”


Cunts is the name of a band that unites members of Dead Cross, Retox, Qui and more. The band will have their self-titled debut album out on November 01st through Ipecac Recordings and sport the following lineup:

Vocals: Matt Cronk (Qui)
Guitars: Michael Crain (Dead Cross/Retox)
Guitars: Sterling Riley (Hepa.Titus)
Bass: Keith Hendricksen (Virginia Reed)
Drums: Kevin Avery (Retox/Planet B)

Cronk commented:

“I think I can speak for all of us when I say we are thrilled to release our debut on Ipecac. Between Mike, Kevin and myself, we have a history with the label and consider it an honor to get to contribute a new record form a new band to what is arguably the most prestigious roster in underground music. I am, personally, over the moon. This track, ‘A Hero’s Welcome,’ is an indictment of zealotry, nationalism and the violation of human rights in the name of a common cause against a supposed enemy.”

Crain added:

“Everyone in the band has known each other for a long time, we are all friends. The band actually started as a joke on a group thread. We were reminiscing about early Cows, Jesus Lizard and Die Kreuzen performances and how organically dangerous and uncontrolled they were. That was our hugest source of inspiration for starting this band, to try and recreate that magic. A few of us have been in bands with each other before, so we already knew we had chemistry but as soon as we all got together to jam for the first time, we knew that this was going to be a fun project.”

Crain produced the album with pre-orders up here. You can hear “A Hero’s Welcome” from the release below, with the record to run as follows:

01 – “Ass To Grind
02 – “Dying To Hit
03 – “A Hero’s Welcome
04 – “Cholos On Acid
05 – “Seagulls
06 – “Cholos On PCP
07 – “Goin’ Out West” (Tom Waits cover)
08 – “He’s A Lady
09 – “Supervised Visits
10 – “You Should See My Dad’s
11 – “Fail At Failure
12 – “Fuck You For Your Service
13 – “The Greater Good

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch