Wayne Static

Static-X To Reunite For New Album, Plan “Wisconsin Death Trip” 20th Anniversary Tour


Static-X have reunited for a new album titled “Project Regeneration” with initial plans also being laid for a world tour. The reunion will of course take place without frontman/guitarist Wayne Static, who passed away in December of 2014 due to a fatal mixture of prescription drugs and alcohol.

Instead, members the band’s classic era lineup—bassist Tony Campos, guitarist Koichi Fukuda and drummer Ken Jay—will be joined by various special guests throughout the album and tour.

- Advertisement -

Static himself won’t be absent however with the album to feature his final studio recordings and compositions. Furthermore, the tour will find the band celebrating the 20th anniversary of Static-X‘s platinum selling debut album, “Wisconsin Death Trip“, which will turn 20 on March 23rd, 2019. Special guests being approached for participation on the album include:

David Draiman (Disturbed)
Ivan Moody (Five Finger Death Punch)
Al Jourgensen (Ministry)
Dez Fafara (DevilDriver/Coal Chamber)
Edsel Dope (Dope)
Burton C. Bell (Fear Factory)

Campos himself commented of the project in the below video, which also shares teases at some of the new songs the band have in the works:

“With the 20th anniversary of ‘Wisconsin Death Trip‘ coming right around the corner, it feels like the right time to pay our respects—to the band, to Wayne and to all the fans that supported us right from the start. With the help of longtime Static-X producer Ulrich Wild, the original band lineup of myself, Tony Campos, guitarist Koichi Fukuda and drummer Ken Jay are in the process of completing a brand new Static-X record, ‘Project Regeneration‘.

The album will feature the final vocal performances and musical compositions from Wayne Static. For the unfinished tracks, we’re inviting our friends to lend us their vocal talents to help us complete this very personal project. With the assistance of SiriusXM‘s Jose Mangin, we are in the process of reaching out to David Draiman from Disturbed, Ivan Moody of Five Finger Death Punch, Al Jourgensen from Ministry, Dez Fafara from Coal Chamber and DevilDriver, Edsel from the band Dope, Burton C. Bell from Fear Factory, as well as a handful of others, to see if they can take some time off their busy schedules to help contribute to this project.

In the end, we expect this album to be between 12 and 15 brand new Static-X tracks. It’s the original lineup back together for all the right reasons.”

“‘Wisconsin Death Trip‘ was our biggest record — it set the tone for everything we did from there on out. We’re gonna celebrate the importance of ‘Wisconsin Death Trip‘ with you while we properly pay our respects to our brother Wayne each and every night as part of the 20th-anniversary of ‘Wisconsin Death Trip‘ reunion tour.

Wayne had fans everywhere, so why not do a memorial show for him everywhere. So we’re gonna play a killer, old-school set that features a majority of the ‘Wisconsin Death Trip‘ record, along with all the other old-school Static-X favorites that you all love.

We plan on having a very interactive show with huge LED walls, big sound and lots of production. We wanna make sure that the 20th-anniversary of ‘Wisconsin Death Trip‘ reunion tour happens all over the U.S. Once we get that unlocked, we can focus on the rest of the world…”

After outlining how the tours and such will be funded by pre-orders made for the album via, he later added “I know Wayne would appreciate all the hard effort that we’re putting into this.”

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch