Lamb Of GodTravis Shinn

Lamb Of God To Release New Covers Album As Burn The Priest, Stream Cover Of The Accused (Updated)


Update March 23rd, 2018 – 08:28am:

An official video directed by Travis Shinn (Killswitch Engage, Motionless In White) for the band’s cover of The Accused‘s “Inherit The Earth” has now been made available below. Additionally, a 7″ featuring the aforementioned cover as well as a b-side cover of Helmet‘s “In The Meantime” will be released on May 18th as well. Merch bundles are now available at

Meanwhile, vocalist Randy Blythe has spoken about the impact The Accused had on his life:

“I’ve been an Accused fan since I was 14 when they were on the ‘Thrasher Skate Rock Volume 3‘ compilation with C.O.C. and all these amazing crossover bands. Their singer Blaine Cook was a huge influence on me, vocally.”

Drummer Chris Adler offered:

“‘Inherit The Earth‘ hit me in the face soon after I managed to get my grubby mitts on the album sometime around ’88. I got the Accused record at a “Yellow Banana” record store on Route 1 south of DC while in route back from my “counselor” to my home in Woodbridge, Virginia. I got home and grabbed my board and I rocked it on my Discman.

At about 2:12 into the tune the clouds parted above me and on a loudspeaker, God bellowed down to me, ‘RECEIVE YOUR PURPOSE.’ That was the moment I knew that if I tried hard enough, I could convey myself and how I felt – with music. It will never be “ours,” and we know that about all the tunes we’ve covered, but hopefully one of them hit you in the face as I had been, and God will part the clouds for you, too.”

Original Story:

Lamb Of God‘s return to their early Burn The Priest moniker was announced by the band’s frontman Randy Blythe tonight (March 22nd) during an episode of his Gimmie Radio show. The band are returning to their former moniker to release, “Legion: XX“, a 20th anniversary covers album of the groups that inspired them. That set will be out May 18th on Epic Records and see the band tackle tracks originally done by various artists who influenced them. Guitarist Mark Morton said of the effort:

“To truly understand the essence of the band Burn The Priest, one must first consider the landscape in which it began: the mid-90s. Grunge and alternative music ruled the airwaves. Social media and the internet had yet to assume their role as our collective sources for entertainment and cultural exchange. It was a time when DIY ‘zines turned us onto new bands and regional scenes, and ‘copy and paste’ still implied a print shop and a glue stick.

As our sound and songs developed, so did our goals… we began playing basement parties and warehouse shows and in doing so, we realized that the energy we were creating was transferable. The shows we played in those squats and warehouses [in Philadelphia] and the people we met there are forever embedded in our collective consciousness and the DNA of our band.

Our inauspicious beginnings somehow grew into something none of us had ever even imagined possible, let alone aspired to, however, this is the story of Burn The Priest. The songs we chose to cover on this album reflect that story. They are touchstones from that point in time.

The inspiration we gleaned from these bands and these songs carries through our work and our creative pursuits, even to this day. Many thanks to these bands for lighting our fire and endless gratitude to our fans around the world for keeping it lit.”

The band once again teamed up with producer Josh Wilbur (Gojira, All That Remains) on the outing, which you can pre-order now via Amazon. Their cover of The Accused track “Inherit The Earth” can be found below along with the album’s track listing:

01 – “Inherit The Earth” (The Accused cover)
02 – “Honey Bucket” (Melvins cover)
03 – “Kerosene” (Big Black cover)
04 – “Kill Yourself” (S.O.D. cover)
05 – “I Against I” (Bad Brains cover)
06 – “Axis Rot” (Sliang Laos cover)
07 – “Jesus Built My Hotrod” (Ministry cover)
08 – “One Voice” (Agnostic Front cover)
09 – “Dine Alone” (Quicksand cover)
10 – “We Gotta Know ” (Cro-Mags cover)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch