Alternative Press Music Awards

Here’s The Winners Of The 2017 ‘Alternative Press Music Awards’


The 2017 ‘Alternative Press Music Awards‘ were handed out today (July 17th) in a ceremony held at the Keybank State Theater in Cleveland, OH. Korn were awarded the ‘Vanguard Award’ at the event, while Against Me!‘s Laura Jane Grace was presented with the ‘Icon Award’. Furthermore, producer (and member of Goldfinger, etc.) John Feldmann took home the ‘Influencer Award’.

Numerous other awards were also handed out for fan-voted categories, here’s the rundown:

- Advertisement -

Best Vocalist:
Winner: Lynn Gunn (PVRIS)

Other nominees:
Ben Barlow (Neck Deep)
Cody Carson (Set It Off)
Derek DiScanio (State Champs)
John O’Callaghan (The Maine)
Keith Buckley (Every Time I Die)

Best Guitarist Presented By PRS:
Winner: Jordan Buckley (Every Time I Die)

Other nominees:
Ben Weinman (The Dillinger Escape Plan)
Claudio Sanchez (Coheed And Cambria)
Reba Meyers (Code Orange)
Steve Menoian (I Prevail)
Teppei Teranishi (Thrice)

Best Hard Rock Artist:
Winner: The Pretty Reckless

Other nominees:
Bullet For My Valentine
Highly Suspect
In This Moment

Best New Artist Music Video Presented By Journeys:
Winner: With Confidence – “Voldemort

Other nominees:
K.Flay – “Blood In The Cut
Pup – “Sleep In The Heat
SWMRS – “Palm Trees
Tiny Moving Parts – “Common Cold
Watsky – “Don’t Be Nice

Best Music Video Presented By Journeys:
Winner: State Champs – “Losing Myself

Other nominees:
Highly Suspect – “Bloodfeather
I See Stars – “Calm Snow
Korn – “Insane”
Memphis May Fire – “This Light I Hold” (feat. Jacoby Shaddix)
Sum 41 – “Fake My Own Death

Best Underground Band:
Winner: Silent Planet

Other nominees:
Knocked Loose
Palaye Royale
With Confidence

Breakthrough Band:
Winner: Waterparks

Other nominees:
Ice Nine Kills
Moose Blood
One Ok Rock

Best Bassist:
Winner: Reginald “Fieldy” Arvizu (Korn)

Other nominees:
Alex Dean (Architects)
Chris Hinkley ( The Mighty)
Fat Mike (NOFX)
Ryan Scott Graham (State Champs)
Sergio Vega (Deftones)

Best Drummer:
Winner: Frank Zummo (Sum 41)

Other nominees:
Arejay Hale (Halestorm)
Aric Improta (Night Verses)
Dean Butterworth (Good Charlotte)
Matt Mingus (Dance Gavin Dance)
JP “Rook” Cappelletty (Machine Gun Kelly)

Best Live Band:
Winner: Falling In Reverse

Other nominees:
Dance Gavin Dance
In This Moment

Most Dedicated Fanbase Presented By Fearless Records:
Winner: Twenty One Pilots

Other nominees:
Melanie Martinez
Motionless In White
Sleeping With Sirens

Song Of The Year Presented By Epitaph Records:
Winner: Andy Black – “We Don’t Have To Dance

Other nominees:
A Day To Remember – “Paranoia
Pierce The Veil – “Circles
Machine Gun Kelly – “Alpha Omega
Real Friends – “Mess
Waterparks – “Stupid For You

Album Of The Year Presented By Journeys:
Winner: Pierce The Veil – “Misadventures

Other nominees:
Andy Black – “The Shadow Side
Tonight Alive – “Limitless
Architects – “All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us
Attila – “Chaos
Beartooth – “Aggressive
Every Time I Die – “Low Teens
I Prevail – “Lifelines
Moose Blood – “Blush
Waterparks – “Double Dare

Artist Of The Year Presented By Monster Energy:
Winner: Panic! At The Disco

Other nominees:
A Day To Remember
Fall Out Boy
Good Charlotte
Green Day
Machine Gun Kelly
Pierce The Veil
Sum 41
The Pretty Reckless

Below you can watch Slipknot/Stone Sour frontman Corey Taylor present Korn with the ‘Vanguard Award’. Korn were originally set to perform at the event, but cancelled over the weekend.

Among some of the musical highlights were Pierce The Veil covering Soundgarden‘s “Black Hole Sun” and Halestorm‘s Lzzy Hale joining New Years Day. Life Of Agony‘s Mina Caputo also joined Against Me!. Footage of that can be found below.

Further performances can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch