CrobotKira Bishop

Crobot Launch “Come Down” & Video Game, New Album “Obsidian” Due In September


A September 13th release date has been scheduled for Crobot‘s new album, “Obsidian“. Recording sessions for this new effort took place at The Machine Shop Studios in Austin, TX with the band themselves overseeing the production. Engineering, mixing and mastering was all assumed by Alberto De Icaza, with 12 tracks in total having been laid down.

Come Down” serves as the first single and guitarist Chris Bishop had the following to say about it:

“As we started demoing songs. The music was being pushed more and more into a heavier, darker, more metal direction. ‘Come Down’ is one of the heaviest songs that we’ve done, it’s much more in the world of Alice In Chains. Dan, our drummer, comes from that world, and we didn’t try to stifle that, so the new music is a lot heavier than our previous albums.”

Ex-Killswitch Engage vocalist Howard Jones (Light The Torch, Sion, etc.) was involved with the album’s title tack, Bishop stated:

“‘Obsidian‘, the title track, went through many different structures, but it was never quite right. So, we put it on hold and hit up Howard Jones, who used to play in Killswitch Engage and is now in Light The Torch. We told him that we had the album’s title, Obsidian, but not the title track, sent him the tune, and he came back with some ideas that were perfect. So, we rolled with that; Brandon put his spin on Howard‘s ideas, and we brought Howard into the circle of being in Crobot for that one song.”

Vocalist/harmonica player Brandon Yeagley added:

“‘Obsidian‘ is almost a rebirth of our career. We were able to take a different approach to the writing and recording of this album, so the experience was very rewarding and different from past projects. Conflicts and reflections make you a better person, even in those darker moments, but I know I became a better person for it. I think that’s what symbolizes this entire album for us. It’s been a real breath of fresh air.”

A new video game centered around the album has been launched via the band’s website,

Obsidian” track listing:

01 – “Obsidian
02 – “Come Down
03 – “Nothing
04 – “From The Ground
05 – “Disappear
06 – “Metal
07 – “The Flood
08 – “Ancient Druid Crown
09 – “Head Of The Beast
10 – “White Rabbit
11 – “Happiness

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch