NorthlaneKane Hibbard

Northlane Premiere “Miasma” Featuring Parkway Drive’s Winston McCall


A sonic union of Aussie metalcore favs Northlane and Parkway Drive emerged online today, January 23rd. Northlane have welcomed Parkway Drive vocalist Winston McCall on their newly debuted single “Miasma“. In addition to that, Northlane have also announced an April 12th release date for their new EP, “Mirror’s Edge“.

The latter band’s guitarist Josh Smith commend of this collaboration:

Parkway Drive were always our number one inspiration as a band. When we first started, their DVD created a roadmap to success, which we did our best to follow. At a time where every band was ripping their sound off, we chose to take our own path but instead emulate their work ethic, and for us it paid dividends.

Over time, that respect has flowed both ways. With this track being so heavy, we couldn’t think of a more perfect guest than Winston. He flew down from Byron just after we toured together in North America and we tracked his parts in Jon‘s home studio. His brute voice just tore the track to pieces and we were stunned with the result.”

Mirror’s Edge” resulted from a recording session which took place this past August with GRAMMY Award-winning producer Will Putney (also of Fit For An Autopsy, Better Lovers & END). Ian Kenny of Karnivool/Birds Of Tokyo) fame also guests on the effort, while the band’s former bassist/vocalist Brendon Padjasek appears on the penultimate track.

Speaking of the concept of the outing, vocalist Marcus Bridge offered:

“It’s like looking at your reflection, looking at the past and everything I’ve been thinking about, or caught up within the last little while. There’s not much positivity in these songs, but it is about acceptance. Hopefully, by putting these songs out, I can leave that stuff behind and I can kind of find a new direction and something to be positive about on the other side of this mirror’s edge.”

Mirror’s Edge” track listing:

01 – “Mirror’s Edge
02 – “Afterimage” (feat. Ian Kenny of Karnivool, etc.)
03 – “Miasma” (feat. Winston McCall of Parkway Drive)
04 – “Let Me Disappear
05 – “Kraft” (feat. Brendon Padjasek)
06 – “Dante

You can pre-order the outing now through Northlane will be on the road in their native Australia soon with ERRA, LANDMVRKS and Banks Arcade:

02/09 Brisbane, AUS – The Fortitude Music Hall
02/10 Sydney, AUS – Enmore Theatre
02/11 Melbourne, AUS – Forum
02/16 Adelaide, AUS – Hindley St. Music Hall
02/17 Perth, AUS – Metro City

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch