KISS Play ‘Final’ Live Show, Launch Their New Concert Era As Digital Avatars


Following a lengthy farewell tour (that some would argue has spanned decades), multi-platinum hard rock legends KISS played what was billed as their ‘final’ live show last night, December 02nd. The outfit closed out their career with a 23-song live set at Madison Square Garden in New York City, NY that was streamed on PPV.

But while that set was billed as effectively bringing to an end the live touring incarnation of the band, it also wound up serving as the launch as to how they envision themselves to carry onward.

To that end, the NYC outfit employed visual effects powerhouse Industrial Light & Magic to craft digital avatars of themselves, similar in nature to the recent ABBA Voyage undertaking. In using this technology, KISS intend to be able to stage virtual performances around the globe. The first taste of this ‘new era’ of KISS, which was teased with a countdown timer on their website, closed out the farewell show following the encore.

The avatars in question performed the band’s track “God Gave Rock And Roll To You II” on screen to those in attendance. Speaking with the Associated Press, Per Sundin of Pophouse Entertainment, who is partnered with the band on the venture, said that this technology will allow the band to continue to uphold their legacy for “eternity” and could allow the band to “have a concert in three cities in the same night across three different continents.”

KISS‘ performances as the digital avatars were captured by ILM via motion capture suits worn by the band’s actual members. Vocalist/guitarist Paul Stanley commented:

“What we’ve accomplished has been amazing, but it’s not enough. The band deserves to live on because the band is bigger than we are. It’s exciting for us to go the next step and see Kiss immortalized.”

Bassist/vocalist Gene Simmons added:

“We can be forever young and forever iconic by taking us to places we’ve never dreamed of before. The technology is going to make Paul jump higher than he’s ever done before.”

The setlist for the group’s final live show ran as follows:

  • Detroit Rock City
  • Shout It Out Loud
  • Deuce
  • War Machine
  • Heaven’s On Fire
  • I Love It Loud
  • Say Yeah
  • guitar solo (Tommy Thayer)
  • Cold Gin
  • Lick It Up
  • Calling Dr. Love
  • Makin’ Love
  • Psycho Circus
  • drum solo
  • 100,000 Years
  • bass solo
  • God Of Thunder
  • I Was Made For Lovin’ You
  • Black Diamond


  • Beth
  • Do You Love Me
  • Rock And Roll All Nite
  • God Gave Rock And Roll To You II” (KISS avatar performance)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch