Linkin Park

Linkin Park Sued By Ex-Bassist Kyle Christner Over Royalty Dispute


Diamond-certified nü-metal / alternative rock band Linkin Park are facing a royalties lawsuit from their former bassist Kyle Christner. The latter musician was a member of the group from around 1998 to 1999. Christner‘s grievances stem from songwriting credits and potential royalties for some 24 bonus tracks featured on the 20th anniversary edition of the group’s 12x multi-platinum debut album, “Hybrid Theory“.

That expanded celebratory set was augmented with dozens of bonus tracks and early demos in 2020, with the anniversary reissue propelling the album back to #12 on the Billboard 200 upon its release in October of 2020. Rolling Stone report that Christner filed suit against his ex-bandmates (Mike Shinoda, Rob Bourdon, Brad Delson & Joseph Hahn), as well as Warner Records, and Shinoda and Delson‘s Machine Shop Records label, in Los Angeles, CA yesterday, November 08th.

He is seeking proper songwriting credits and potential back royalties for the music he claims to have had a hand in that was featured upon that set. In addition to claiming to performing on the tracks, Christner also alleges he had a hand in writing a number of the songs. He is seeking for the court to establish who wrote what on each of the disputed tracks, with potential payment of any royalties owed, as well as interest and his attorney fees to be covered by the defendants.

In his complaint, Christner alleges that was contacted this past April by a member of Linkin Park‘s management in regards to him being owed royalties for three of the included demos and the six-song “Hybrid Theory” EP featured in the aforementioned set. Christner claims that his work and involvement was more extensive than the nine songs allegedly brought forward by the band’s management. Per his complaint, he alleges he was involved with the following included tracks:

Hybrid Theory” EP:

  • Carousel
  • Technique
  • Step Up
  • And One
  • High Voltage
  • Part Of Me

Forgotten Demos“:

  • Pictureboard
  • She Couldn’t
  • Could Have Been
  • Rhinestone” (Xero demo)
  • Esaul” (Xero demo)
  • Stick N’ Move” (demo)
  • Carousel” (demo)
  • Point Of Authority” (demo)
  • Crawling” (demo)
  • SuperXero” (“By Myself” demo)

LPU Rarities:

  • In the End” (demo)
  • Dedicated” (1999 demo)
  • Esaul” (“A Place for My Head” demo)
  • Forgotten” (demo)
  • Sad” (“By Myself” demo 1999)
  • Blue” (unreleased demo 1998)
  • Chair” (1999 “Part of Me” demo)

B-Side Rarities“:

  • Step Up” (1999 demo)

Christner alleges in his complaint that upon voicing his concerns about not being credited for the other tracks, the representative from the band’s management gave him the cold shoulder. According to Rolling Stone, members of the band and their representatives have yet to respond for comment on the complaint.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch