Year Of The Knife

Year Of The Knife Debut Two New Songs Featuring Full Of Hell & Sanguisugabogg Members (Updated)


Delaware metalcore outfit Year Of The Knife have digitally released a pair of new tracks. The group had hit the studio with Converge‘s Kurt Ballou behind the boards to lay down new material a number of months in advance of their life-changing van accident this past June. Live shows played prior to that accident even saw some of those new songs played live.

Sadly, the accident left all members of the outfit with injuries of differing levels of severity, though it was vocalist Madi Watkins who suffered the worst of the crash. She was initially left in critical condition and put in a medically-induced coma to assist in stabilizing her.

Since then, she has undergone surgeries for numerous broken bones and more. Due to the brain trauma she also received in the crash, a course of extensive physical therapy, cognition and speech therapy was also put into place. She continues her recovery journey at the moment.

While the updates from her bandmates and family in recent months have been inspiring, tonight (September 25th) saw fans of the group get a new reason to celebrate in the form of a pair of new singles: “Wish” featuring Full Of Hell vocalist Dylan Walker, and “Last Laugh“, which boasts a guest spot from Sanguisugabogg singer Devin Swank. Both are streaming below.

You can contribute to Year Of The Knife‘s recovery fund over at GoFundMe.

Update: September 26th, 2023 09:13am:

It has since been announced that Year Of The Knife will be releasing a new full-length album titled “No Love Lost” on October 27th through Pure Noise Records. Pre-orders for the Kurt Ballou produced effort have been made available through Per an official press release, proceeds from the album will go directly to the band and their recovery efforts.

Bassist Brandon Watkins commented:

“After three months we’re finally gearing up to go home. We were in a terrible accident in Salt Lake City that left me concussed, Aaron with a broken femur and severed carotid artery, Andy with broken ankles, and Madi breaking almost everything and a traumatic brain injury. It’s been a long, long road but everyday brings new hope. Madi‘s currently awake and alert, talking her head off, and doing constant speech, physical and occupational therapy. Like I said, it’s challenging but everyday is better. We’re looking forward to finally going home.

This record represents so many things for us. It’s Madi‘s big debut, her second set of recordings and first ever LP singing for YOTK. In my opinion she CRUSHES. It was super hard to come to the decision to release the record while she’s still recovering. The record was originally supposed to start rolling out in July but with everything that happened we thought it best to wait.

Now that Madi‘s more aware of what’s going on I think she’ll be really excited. And we’re really excited to share this record with all of you. Our influences are all over the place for this record. This was the second time each of us wrote music for the record–like Dust to Dust where we each wrote a song, we all contributed. Madi even wrote a breakdown. It was an awesome experience learning how we each express ourselves musically. This is what I’ve got.”

Drummer Andrew Kisielewski added:

“At the end of June we had arguably the worst thing that can happen to a band happen to us. I sustained two dislocated and fractured ankles, had two surgeries in the span of days, spent over a month in a wheelchair, another challenging month on crutches, and now as of yesterday I’m officially walking completely unassisted. It’s crazy that all of this happened just three months ago, and that glimmer of normality already approaches us all faster than we would ever expect.

Given our current state, it wasn’t easy to make the decision to put out a record. It’s hard to say when we’ll be back in full swing, but for now we couldn’t be more excited to share this with everyone. In approaching writing, it was an unspoken consensus that our new lineup opened the door to evolve our sound even further.

The overall dynamic, individual influences, and equal contribution between the four of us birthed something beyond anything we’ve done before. This record is the perfect culmination of us. It’s everything we wanna play, it’s everything we wanna hear, it’s 20 solid minutes of nothing but pure YOTK. To say I love this thing is an understatement, and I hope at least one of you finds a love for it the same way we do.”

No Love Lost” track listing:

01 – “Sometimes
02 – “Wish
03 – “Mourning The Living
04 – “Alice
05 – “Last Laugh
06 – “Your Control
07 – “Heaven Denied
08 – “Return The Agony
09 – “No Love Lost

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch