DarkthroneJørn Steen

Darkthrone Set October Release Date For New Album “Astral Fortress”


Black metal veterans Darkthrone will have their nineteenth studio album “Astral Fortress” out on October 28th via Peaceville Records. The duo recorded this new offering at Chaka Khan Studios in Oslo, Norway with Ole Øvstedal and Silje Høgevold once again involved.

Multi-instrumentalist Fenriz commented:

“As usual, Ted makes music by playing himself and riffs just come to me. I think since 2016’s ‘Arctic Thunder‘, we have mostly been inspired by our own back catalogue. I can hear many of my riffs eventually sounding like a plethora of bands but this seldom seems to correlate with what others hear. As you’ll know by now I never talk about the lyrics or the inspiration behind them and I would never want any lyrics that I like of others to be explained to me but I will tell you this, it is darker than ever, it is seething with hell.”

Astral Fortress” track listing:

01 – “Caravan Of Broken Ghosts
02 – “Impeccable Caverns Of Satan
03 – “Stalagmite Necklace
04 – “The Sea Beneath The Seas Of The Sea
05 – “Kevorkian Times
06 – “Kolbotn, West Of The Vast Forests
07 – “Eon 2

Pre-orders for the album will be live this Thursday, September 08th via this location. You can take in a trailer for the release in the meantime below:

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch