Massacre Debut Two New Songs From Their Upcoming New EP “Mythos”


A new EP from Floridian death metal outfit Massacre has been announced for a July 01st release. The effort has been christened “Mythos” and will arrive through Nuclear Blast Records. A first single, “Behind The Serpent’s Curse“, has just been launched online from it and finds Cadaver‘s Anders Odden guesting. Another track, “The Dunwich Horror” has also been released to accompany it.

Massacre vocalist Kam Lee commented:

- Advertisement -

“‘Behind The Serpent’s Curse‘ is lyrically inspired by and roughly based on the Lovecraft short story “The Curse Of Yig,” but is also the most metaphorically lyrical based song I’ve written in Massacre, and that is directly inspired by actual real life circumstances. It acts like a warning of sorts and is a foretelling of how it’s been like dealing with certain toxic individuals in my life. It indirectly relates to individuals whom always seem to come in pairs, and how, like serpents these people spread their venomous poison (lies).

I also had guest vocalist Anders Odden (Cadaver) join me on this particular track because lyrically it is very similar in theme to the Cadaver track “Feed The Pigs” that I made a guest appearance on. Having two distinct vocalist on a track that lyrically is based on the concepts of duality of untrusting individuals wasn’t just an after thought either, I always intended this track to be represented by two vocalist.

The Dunwich Horror‘ is a more traditional track in both lyrical approach and aesthetics. It’s just basically loosely based upon the Lovecraft story of the same name, but still resonates upon the core theme of twins. Two seemingly evil brother abominations brought into this world by a grotesque and hideous matriarch. I guess one could say I am suggesting that behind every pair of twin lying toxic men is always an equally conniving female antagonist. Yeah, sure, I’m simply reflecting upon my own past experiences, but it seems to be the case in a lot of similar circumstances.

Musically both tracks are laden in the same old school death metal style that can be found on ‘Resurgence.’ It’s a sound and style that carries over and shall continue to be the core essence of Massacre under my helm.”

In 2020, The Absence‘s Jeramie Kling and Taylor Nordberg announced their departure from Massacre amid some bitterness between themselves and Kam Lee.

Mythos” track listing:

01 – “Behind The Serpent’s Curse” (feat. Anders Odden of Cadaver)
02 – “The Dunwich Horror
03 – “The Mythos That Lovecraft Built
04 – “The Thing On The Doorstep

Pre-orders can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch