Amon AmarthTomas Giden

Amon Amarth Announce New Album “The Great Heathen Army”, Premiere “Get In The Ring” Music Video


Viking metal greats Amon Amarth have announced an August 05th release date for their new album “The Great Heathen Army“. Pre-orders for that twelfth full-length effort from the outfit are available now via Metal Blade Records at this location.

A music video for their track “Get In The Ring“, which was written as a theme song for professional wrestler Erick Redbeard, has been launched online below. Redbeard also stars in the video.

- Advertisement -

Meanwhile, speaking of the new album, Amon Amarth vocalist Johan Hegg offered:

“Overall ‘The Great Heathen Army‘ is one of the heavier albums we’ve made. There are some dark and heavy songs that are really powerful and in-your-face, but we obviously have some trademark melodic Amon Amarth songs on there as well, and a few surprises too. It’s a really well-balanced album. It sounds great. Andy Sneap is awesome. It was great to be able to work with him again.”

The band’s guitarist Olavi Mikkonen added:

“We’ve been away making new music and we’re back with new darker, more death-metal sounding album. If ‘Berserker‘ was our ‘heavy metal’ album, then ‘The Great Heathen Army‘ is our ‘death metal’ album. But with that said, it’s still very much contemporary Amon Amarth, but perhaps style-wise we have gone back to our roots a little bit.”

“I really like ‘Get In The Ring‘ which was written for our friend Erick Redbeard the pro wrestler as an ‘entrance’ song for him. The lyrics are obviously written to fit both Viking and wrestling themes, and you can also see Erick as the lead character in the new video for the song. We shot the video in Wroclaw, Poland with our friends Grupa 13 and they helped us create this dark and epic Mad Max meets Viking underground super brutal fight club for the video clip.”

The Great Heathen Army” track listing:

01 – “Get In The Ring
02 – “The Great Heathen Army
03 – “Heidrun
04 – “Oden Owns You All
05 – “Find A Way Or Make One
06 – “Dawn Of Norsemen
07 – “Saxons And Vikings
08 – “Skagul Rides With Me
09 – “The Serpent’s Trail

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch