Iggy Pop, Jake Oni & Randy BlytheTravis Shinn

ONI Debut “Secrets” Music Video Featuring Iggy Pop & Lamb Of God’s Randy Blythe


ONI, the progressive metalcore endeavor spearheaded by Jake Oni, has released a new track by the name of “Secrets” online. This time around a pair of high-profile guests accompany him on the song, namely punk/rock n’ roll legend Iggy Pop and Lamb Of God vocalist Randy Blythe.

Speaking of working with Pop, Oni offered:

“He came down, we had some food and just chilled. And then he did his thing all over the song. He asked me for ideas about how to approach it, which was just crazy and cool. It all worked so well and came out sick.”

Blythe added:

“It was awesome to work with Jake again, and of course the usual suspects, my compatriots Mark Morton and Josh Wilbur – always a good time. But to be on a track and film a video with one of my biggest influences as a frontman, the OG godfather of punk and living legend Iggy Pop? Completely priceless.”

A music video for the track can be viewed below. Meanwhile, ONI‘s new album “Loathing Light“, has been announced for a June 17th on Ironshore Records. You can pre-order that outing here.

Loathing Light” track listing:

01 – “The Lie
02 – “Against My Sins
03 – “Secrets” (feat. Iggy Pop & Randy Blythe)
04 – “Awaken
05 – “War Ender” (feat. City Morgue)
06 – “Heart To Stone
07 – “Battery Tomb
08 – “Sequence Static
09 – “Gasoline
10 – “Golden

ONI worked with producer Josh Wilbur (Lamb Of God, Gojira) and Lamb Of God guitarist Mark Morton on “Loathing Light” and had the following to say about it:

“The songs are very much written from the first person, with a lot of ‘I’ and ‘me’ in the lyrics as opposed to ‘us’ or ‘you’. The music encompasses many different vibes, both light and dark. I really challenged myself to address difficult things I’ve gone through over the years.”

He continued:

Mark [Morton] helped me through a lot of stuff with mental health and addiction, things he’s gone through himself. He’s definitely been a big support for me. I worked with him before in a full band, but this time, it was just he and I, writing an entire album together, which was killer.

I don’t want anyone in there besides Mark and Josh when I’m recording vocals. They get what I can do. They know my limitations and how to utilize my talents like nobody else really can fully.”

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch