Joey Jordison

Ex-Slipknot Drummer Joey Jordison Snubbed In GRAMMYS ‘In Memoriam’ Segment


In what has unfortunately become a sad tradition for the ‘GRAMMY Awards‘, yet another metal icon was excluded from the show’s annual In Memoriam tribute segment. That segment airs during each yearly broadcast of the show, paying tribute to many of the musicians and industry staff who passed away in the year prior.

This year the late Joey Jordison, former drummer and co-founding member of the multi-platinum Iowan band Slipknot, was not included in the annual televised tribute segment. Throughout the course of their career, Slipknot have racked up ten GRAMMY nominations across the ‘Best Metal Performance’, ‘Best Hard Rock Performance’ and ‘Best Rock Album’ categories.

- Advertisement -

Those nominations including their 2005 single “Before I Forget“, which won them the ‘Best Metal Performance’ in 2006. Jordison was even in attendance to accept the award at the ceremony held that year. While Jordison, wasn’t included in the ‘In Memoriam’ segment itself, his name was among those listed in the Recording Academy’s online ‘In Memoriam’ list.

Also absent from the televised segment was Jon Zazula, a pioneering figure in heavy metal who helped spearhead the thrash metal movement, including signing and releasing Metallica‘s first album. Zazula was also mentioned in the above list however.

The GRAMMYS have had a painfully long history of snubbing the metal and hard rock community when it comes to the televised segments. Other artists to be omitted from the annual segment in the past include: Slayer guitarist Jeff Hanneman, HELLYEAH, ex-Pantera drummer Vinnie Paul Abbott, Static-X vocalist/guitarist Wayne Static, GWAR vocalist Dave “Oderus Urungus” Brockie, ex-Megadeth drummer Nick Menza and We Came As Romans vocalist Kyle Pavone.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch