AmorphisSam Jamsen

Amorphis To Release New Album “Halo” In February


Amorphis‘s fourteenth studio album has beenc hristened “Halo” and has been slated for a February 11th release on Atomic Fire Records. The album was produced by Jens Bogren (Amon Amarth, Opeth) and guitarist Esa Holopainen had the following to say in regards to it:

“It really is a great feeling that we can still produce very decent music as a band. Perhaps a certain kind of self-criticism and long experience culminate in these latest albums. It is thoroughly recognizable Amorphis from beginning to end but the general atmosphere is a little bit heavier and more progressive and also organic compared to its predecessor.”

Vocalist Tomi Joutsen added:

“To me, ‘Halo‘ sounds a little more stripped down compared to ‘Queen Of Time‘ and ‘Under The Red Cloud‘. However, don’t get me wrong: when a certain song needs to sound big, then it sounds very big.”

Pekka Kainulainen once again helped provide lyrical inspiration for the record and said of its themes:

“‘Halo‘ is a loose themed record filled with adventurous tales about the mythical North tens of thousands of years ago. The lyrics tell of an ancient time when man wandered to these abandoned boreal frontiers after the ice age. While describing the revival of a seminal culture in a world of new opportunities, I also try to reach the sempiternal forces of the human mind.”

Halo” track listing:

01 – “Northwards
02 – “On The Dark Waters
03 – “The Moon
04 – “Windmane
05 – “A New Land
06 – “When The Gods Came
07 – “Seven Roads Come Together
08 – “War
09 – “Halo
10 – “The Wolf
11 – “My Name Is Night

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch