The Lurking Fear

The Lurking Fear (At The Gates, Etc.) Premiere “Cosmic Macabre” From New Album “Death, Madness, Horror, Decay”


The Lurking Fear will have their sophomore album “Death, Madness, Horror, Decay” out on November 19th through Century Media. At The Gates, etc. vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant fronts the outfit and spoke of the album as follows:

“With our second album we really wanted to produce a more coherent listening experience. The first one was a blast to put together, and I do love that it is dynamic, but we talked a lot about it and this time around we wanted the record to have more of a unified sound, so to say…We wanted it to sound like a band with their own identity. Therefor the writing sessions were more of a unified effort this time around, and all the writers in the band are part of more songs. The album is still dynamic, as it has both intense, faster “rippers” and a few more heavy moments, but the overall sound is more convincing, to my ears.

I also wanted to evolve the lyrical concept further. Of course, there is still tons of Lovecraft influence throughout the album, but I also tampered with some more current horror writers and philosophers. I guess it is not a coincidence, but this album feels like the ugly stepchild of the new At The Gates album, lyrically. I delved into the ideas conveyed by thinkers like Ligotti and Thacker and added an extra layer of cosmic horror to the already Lovecraftian universe of The Lurking Fear. Still the same basic ideas, but just more developed, and philosophical, I guess you could say.

Also, this time around, we talked more with our producer, Per Stålberg, before, so he and us were on the same page about which kind of album we wanted to make. The new album is more of everything, and we feel that the band finally is reaching its full potential. Enjoy!”

Several other members of At The Gates join Tomas in this outfit, including guitarist Jonas Stålhammar and drummer Adrian Erlandsson. While there’s a few months to go before the album comes your way, the song “Cosmic Macabre” has been chosen as the first single from it music video for it is airing below.

Tomas said of that:

“‘Cosmic Macabre‘ was one of the first tracks to be finalized for the new album. It is an old school Swedish death metal scorcher, but has some more quirky stuff thrown in for good measure. The lyrics deal with what lurks beyond the limits of the human comprehension. We felt it was a good first representation of the album as it contains a lot of the different elements of the record in one song. Let the primal darkness tear you apart!”

Death, Madness, Horror, Decay” track listing:

01 – “Abyssal Slime
02 – “Death Reborn
03 – “Cosmic Macabre
04 – “Funeral Abyss
05 – “Death, Madness, Horror, Decay
06 – “Architects Of Madness
07 – “In A Thousand Horrors Crowned
08 – “Kaleidoscopic Mutations
09 – “Ageless Evil
10 – “One In Flesh
11 – “Restless Death
12 – “Leech Of The Aeons

Pre-orders for the album can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch