White StonesSandra Artigas

White Stones (Opeth) To Release “Dancing Into Oblivion” In August, Launch “Chain Of Command” Video


White Stones will have their sophomore album “Dancing Into Oblivion” out on August 27th through Nuclear Blast. The track “Chain Of Command” has been selected as the first single from the release and is available below. The band tracked the album at their singer Eloi Boucherie‘s Farm Of Sounds Studios in Barcelona, Spain. Mixing and mastering was completed by Jaime Gómez Arellano (Ghost, Paradise Lost) at Orgone Studios.

Opeth bassist Martín Méndez handles both the guitar and bass duties in this group and commented of this record and its origins:

- Advertisement -

“It’s a mix of feelings during the lockdown, feelings that go from fear to uncertainty as well as going through the confusion when you don’t know about the future and you feel almost as if time has stopped. Musicians might be the last who will be back to work and we don’t have any signs of a sooner return, which makes for a huge uncertainty.

I have a family and I have to take care of them. This situation creates a feeling of discomfort which you can feel on the album. Otherwise it’s been nice having so much time at home with the family and those small and peaceful moments are also in the music.

I’ve chosen to include some interludes between the songs so there is a higher contrast and it makes it easier to appreciate the different feelings throughout.”

He later added:

“It’s difficult to define the style of this album. I don’t like to tag the music. This is metal for me. It has elements of my interpretation of death metal but it has other, conscious influences from other genres too. It shows me as musician and displays my music taste within the restlessness of trying to do something different.”

“The first one I wrote was ‘Chain Of Command‘, where I had the idea of writing more daring songs than on the previous record where I restricted myself and didn’t want to play anything too technical, I just wanted to create something that was easier on the ear. In this one I wanted to do something slightly more elaborate and technical, musically, to add some color.

The first influence I had for ‘Chain Of Command‘ was from a John Coltrane & Wilbur Harden album, while in ‘New Age Of Dark‘ the influence came listening to Deicide, so the influences are really quite varied across this record.”

This time around, drummer Joan Carles Marí Tur (Face The Maybe) handled the studio percussion duties, while the band’s touring guitarist Joao Sassetti laid down several guitar solos on the record.

Dancing Into Oblivion” track listing:

01 – “La Menace
02 – “New Age Of Dark
03 – “Chain Of Command
04 – “Iron Titans
05 – “Woven Dream
06 – “To Lie Or To Die
07 – “Freedom In Captivity
08 – “Acacia

Pre-orders can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch