Crobot Announce New EP “Rat Child”, Debut “Mountain” Featuring Anthrax’s Frank Bello


Crobot are joined by Anthrax bassist/vocalist Frank Bello on their new single “Mountain“. That song comes from the band’s new EP “Rat Child“, out June 18th on Mascot Label Group. In addition to Bello, the EP will also sport guest spots from Howard Jones (Light The Torch/ex-Killswitch Engage, etc. fame) on the track “Kiss It Goodbye” and Steel Panther‘s Stix Zadinia on “Everyone Dies“.

Frontman Brandon Yeagley commented:

- Advertisement -

“We’ve grown to know the Anthrax dudes pretty well through touring and developed a working relationship in addition to our friendships. We’ve always talked about writing with Frankie because we have a lot of the same influences and that definitely shines through in ‘Mountain.’ Frankie has always lent us his ear and has been a big supporter of ours – it was a treat to work with him on something.”

He also spoke of working with Zadinia:

“One of the last tours we did was supporting Steel Panther. We hit it off with all of the guys. Stix even got tattooed by Bishop! We kept in touch and he sent us a bunch of ideas he had for songs.

We really gravitated towards this piano instrumental he had called ‘Jimmy’s Piano Song.’ We don’t know Jimmy, but Stix must really love that dude…cause that shit brought tears to our eyes. Through a couple of Zoom sessions, we were able to work everything out and that’s how we wrote ‘Everyone Dies.’

We really wanted to venture somewhere different with this one but still pump it full of our personality. This is our attempt to sit at the dinner table with Queen whilst eating a healthy portion of Meatloaf.”

And of collaborating with Howard Jones:

Howard was introduced to us through mutual friends. We have always been huge fans of his melodic footprint and his unique melodies. When we heard he would be interested in writing with us, we were beyond excited. He flew down to Austin and spent a few days in a studio with us.

We had a such great chemistry with him and wrote ‘Kiss it Goodbye.’ We thought it was a shoe-in for being a track on ‘Motherbrain‘ but for whatever reason, it didn’t make the cut. It seemed like such a travesty to let such a great song sit on the shelf. So, we’re pumped to let the world hear it!”

Rat Child” track listing:

01 – “Mountain” (feat. Frank Bello)
02 – “Kiss It Goodbye” (feat. Howard Jones)
03 – “Everyone Dies” (feat. Darren “Stix Zadinia” Leader)
04 – “Rat Child

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch