The Armed

The Armed Recruit Queens Of The Stone Age, Converge, Etc. Members For New Album “Ultrapop”, Debut “All Futures” Music Video


The Armed have announced that their new studio album “Ultrapop” will meet an April 16th release on Sargent House. The song “All Futures” has launched as the latest single from the ever-evolving collective, with a video for it available below. The band’s Dan Greene also took the time to commented of the opus and the inspiration behind it:

“Crafting vital art means presenting the audience with new and intriguing tensions—sonically, visually, conceptually. Over time and through use, those tensions become less novel and effective—and they become expectations. The concept of ‘subgenre’ becomes almost the antithesis of vitality in art—itself a fetishization of expectation. ‘ULTRAPOP‘ seeks, in earnest, to create a truly new listener experience. It is an open rebellion against the culture of expectation in ‘heavy’ music. It is a joyous, genderless, post-nihilist, anti-punk, razor-focused take on creating the most intense listener experience possible. It’s the harshest, most beautiful, most hideous thing we could make.”

Numerous guest appearances have been announced in advance for the album, they include:

  • Mark Lanegan (ex-Screaming Trees, etc.)
  • Troy Van Leeuwen (Queens Of The Stone Age, Gone Is Gone, etc.)
  • Kurt Ballou (Converge)
  • Eva Spence (Rolo Tomassi)
  • Ben Chisholm (Chelsea Wolfe, etc.)

It appears that Kurt Ballou also mixed the album as well. Pre-orders for “Ultrapop” can be found here.

Ultrapop” track listing:

01 – “Ultrapop
02 – “All Futures
03 – “Masunaga Vapors
04 – “A Life So Wonderful
05 – “An Iteration
06 – “Big Shell
07 – “Average Death
08 – “Faith In Medication
09 – “Where Man Knows Want
10 – “Real Folk Blues
11 – “Bad Selection
12 – “The Music Becomes A Skull” (feat. Mark Lanegan)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch