Serj TankianGeorge Tonikian

System Of A Down’s Serj Tankian Debuts New Track “Elasticity”


System Of A Down frontman Serj Tankian has debuted the title track to his forthcoming EP “Elasticity“. A Vlad Kaptur directed music video for that song can be found below. “Elasticity” is slated for a release on March 19th (April 30th on vinyl) and includes a number of songs he originally penned several years back for inclusion on System Of A Down‘s sixth studio album.

Those sessions were eventually scuttled following creative/financial disputes and Tankian has held onto them since. You can find out more about “Elasticity“, including its track listing and cover art, here. Pre-orders for the EP are available at this location.

- Advertisement -

Tankian had originally planned to release this EP late last year, but instead opted to delay it in order to focus his attention on raising awareness and aid for the Armenian people of Artsakh affected by the Nagorno-Karabakh war.

That conflict also inspired System Of A Down to get back together and release their first new material in 15 years in the form of  Protect The Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz. Those two tracks generated over $600,000 in aid for the aforementioned cause.

Speaking of this upcoming collection of songs, Tankian stated:

“When I conceived possibly doing another record with the guys from System of a Down a few years back, I started working on a set of songs that I arranged in rock format for that purpose. As we weren’t able to see eye to eye on the vision going forward with an SOAD album, I decided to release these songs under my moniker.”