System Of A Down's Serj Tankian

Details Revealed For Serj Tankian’s New EP Of Scrapped System Of A Down Song Ideas


System Of A Down frontman Serj Tankiain will be releasing his new rock-oriented EP “Elasticity” on March 19th. That outing features several songs Tankian had originally penned for inclusion on what would have been System Of A Down‘s sixth studio album had creative/financial disputes derailed the process several years back.

A tongue-in-cheek nod to the title of System Of A Down‘s 3x multi-platinum 2001 album “Toxicity“, the effort features five songs, including the title track, which will launch tomorrow, February 05th. Tankian previously told of the effort:

- Advertisement -

“‘Elasticity‘, the songs on that EP were written many years back. When I wrote them, the original concept, for me, was, ‘What rock songs can come out of me right now that I can possibly work with System on?’ So the intention was, actually, to sit down, and I’ve played them for the [other] guys [in System], and we even kind of messed around with some of ’em, and whatnot. And, obviously, we were unable to see eye-to-eye on continuing the future recordings of System, except for, obviously, these two songs for the cause that we’ve done, and that was before—obviously, a couple of years before.

So these songs, I decided to finish them myself and release them. And they are really interesting and beautiful songs — going from really heavy type of System-esque type of music to really beautiful, ballady — including pianos and string arrangements and stuff like that. So, it’s quite diverse for just five songs. And thematically, it’s quite diverse as well — a song about terrorism; a song about protests in Armenia years ago; a song about my son Rumi, kind of also cut with the poet Rumi, in a way — it’s an homage to the poet Rumi and his namesake, basically, in a way. And a few other pieces. So it’s kind of all around the place, as everything I do is.”

A music video for the track “Rumi” was filmed this past August.

Serj Tankian - Elasticity

Elasticity” track listing:

01 – “Elasticity
02 – “Your Mom
03 – “How Many Times?
04 – “Rumi
05 – “Electric Yerevan

This EP was completed prior to System Of A Down reuniting in the studio late last year for the release of two songs, Protect The Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz—both of which were put out to benefit the Armenian people of Artsakh affected by the Nagorno-Karabakh war.

Protect The Land” was penned nearly a year and a half prior by the band’s guitarist Daron Malakian as a potential track for his Scars On Broadway project. “Genocidal Humanoidz” was also a Malakian track and it was written 3-4 years before its release for potential inclusion on the failed attempted at creating a new System Of A Down record.