AC/DCJosh Cheuse

AC/DC Set November Release For New Album “PWR/UP”


AC/DC‘s seventeenth studio album “PWR/UP” has officially been scheduled for a November 13th release date. The first single from the release, “Shot In The Dark“, will debut tomorrow, October 07th. The album finds the band reunited with returning frontman Brian Johnson, bassist Cliff Williams and drummer Phil Rudd. Recording sessions for the effort took place under Brendan O’Brien (Rage Against The Machine, Peal Jam) in The Warehouse Studio in Vancouver, BC.

The effort marks the band’s first record since losing founding rhythm guitarist Malcolm Young to dementia in 2017. While Malcolm‘s playing isn’t on the album, some of the riffs he wrote with his brother Angus will appear on the record. Speaking recently to Rock 100.5 Atlanta, Johnson stated of that:

“There’s a lot of [rumors] about Malcolm’s guitar playing [being on the album], [and] well, of course, that’s not true. But what is true is the fact that Angus and Malcolm had done riffs together all their life and really had a big box of them. And Angus said he basically just went through them all and he went, ‘Oh, that’s a good one. This is a good one.’ And he brought them out.

So it really is true that Malcolm is on there, basically, in spirit and all of that. And he’s such a strong character in life. And I think everybody in the band still felt, especially Angus, his brother, [that Malcolm] is in everything. We’re always conscious of that, that he’s watching over, ‘You’d better do it right. You’d better do it AC/DC style or just not do it at all.’

And the songs came in – Angus came in with ‘em and all, and worked with Brendan O’Brien, the producer, and I went into just a regular little control room, and we just went for it. And we’d take it back, and Angus would have a listen and see if there was anything that needed changing… But there wasn’t much [that needed to be changed].”


- Advertisement - Purchase Merch