YashiraRebecca Olson

Yashira To Release New Album “Fail To Be” In December, Premiere “Shards Of Heaven” Music Video


Yashira‘s new album “Fail To Be” will be released on December 11th via Good Fight Music. You can take in a first taste of the effort today with a Cameron Nunez directed music video for the debut single, “Shards Of Heaven“. The band said of the track:

“The song is about how violence is used to gain power over people, and specific situations. It’s about how violence and power are used perpetually throughout history to create false realities for those safeguarded and protected from and by the violence.”

- Advertisement -

The group oversaw the album’s production duties alongside Greg Thomas (Misery Signals, Shai Hulud), while Chris Teti engineered. The sessions took place at Silver Bullet Studios in Burlington, CT. Speaking of the outing, they offered:

“Writing for this record began right after ‘Shrine‘ was released. Seth was still with us while we were writing for this; the sound was evolving a lot from the beginning stages up to when he passed. When we decided to move forward with Ryan, all we had were very blown-out voice memo recordings of the songs, so there was a lot of necessary reworking. For the tracks to be as good as they could be, we wrote to our chemistry and strengths with Ryan, and with a much more pinpointed idea of what we wanted out of our sound, we were able to get into a groove.

Recording ‘Fail To Be‘ was a different experience for all of us. We’d never been in a studio setting like we were at Silver Bullet as far as putting aside three weeks to crank out a record. We learned a lot from working with Greg and Chris on so many different levels. This setting had us eating/sleeping/breathing this record, and that kind of environment brought out a focus none of us had ever known. We were all dialed in, and we think it shows. Us, Greg and Chris were able to create something we’re all very proud of making.”

Pre-orders are available here. The album finds the band joined by drummer Ryan O’Neal of Seraph/The Light, Autolith fame, who took over the spot previously held by drummer Seth Howard, who passed away in a car accident in late 2018.

Fail To Be” track listing:

01 – “The Constant
02 – “Shards Of Heaven
03 – “The Weight
04 – “Impasse
05 – “Shades Erased
06 – “Amnesia
07 – “Narrowed In Mirrored Light
08 – “Inertia Mines
09 – “Kudzu

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch