SUMACReid Haithcock

SUMAC To Release New Album “May You Be Held” This Fall


SUMAC (Old Man Gloom, Russian Circles, etc.) have set September 18th as the release date for their new album, “May You Be Held“. The band’s Aaron Turner commented:

“As an artist in this time of significant upheaval, society seemingly having reached the end of its current iteration, it’s of critical importance to absorb and interpret this process of dissolution – and of the transformation that hopefully follows it. While I don’t believe we’re on the brink of collective destruction precisely now, this is clearly a pivotal stage in the story of humankind – and there is something that feels right about this music at this exact and very uncertain moment.”

He further added:

“It’s clear humans have figured out many ways over the centuries to acclimate to adverse circumstances, and even to thrive in them. My hope for our family, humanity and future generations, is that we find our way by doing what we have always done—invent, adapt, band together, and ideally, hold each other up through love and kindness.”

The band recorded the album across multiple sessions with Kurt Ballou (of Converge) and Matt Bayles (Mastodon, Norma Jean) separately behind the boards.

May You Be Held” track listing:

01 – “A Prayer For Your Path
02 – “May You Be Held
03 – “The Iron Chair
04 – “Consumed
05 – “Laughter And Silence

Pre-orders for the album will be launched soon. Last week the band dropped this live album, featuring a 2018 live performance at St. Vitus in Brooklyn, NY.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch