Killswitch Engage

Killswitch Engage Surprise Release “Atonement” B-Sides EP For Charity


Killswitch Engage have surprise released a new EP titled “Atonement II B-Sides For Charity“. 100% of the proceeds from the outing will go towards the CDP COVID-19 Response Fund. Six b-sides from the band’s latest album “Atonement” appear on the effort, which is currently available exclusively through Bandcamp until May 08th, where it will then arrive via the usual digital outlets.

The band’s frontman Jesse Leach commented:

- Advertisement -

“These songs didn’t make the final cut for ‘Atonement‘. Choosing which songs make an album remains a tough process for me. While the songs that made the most sense appear on the album, I’m still attached to every song I write. So, when the idea came up to put these B-Sides out and donate funds to a charity, I was relieved at the idea and the band unanimously agreed to the cause. I am proud these songs get to see a release, and to help others in the process is a huge bonus.

These songs were written during a very difficult and uncertain time of my life. They are written with two perspectives: that of a struggling, angry, frustrated man having a crisis of faith, life, and love and a man finding the will and the strength to change perspective, try again, and to fight through it all.

Although these songs may not have made the cut for the album, they are deeply meaningful songs that I believe in whole heartedly. Lyrically, they are some of my favorites that I have written. From the very personal ‘Hollow Convictions,’ ‘No Devotion,’ and ‘I Feel Alive Again,’ to the battle cry songs of ‘Killing of Leviathan,’ ‘Prophets of Treason,’ and ‘The Great Beyond,’ it tells the story of my journey and my view of the world around me.

Big thanks to Metal Blade for partnering up with us on this! Also thank you to Center for Disaster Philanthropy for their amazing work! Lastly, thanks to all of you for purchasing the songs and contributing to helping those who are in desperate need during these uncertain times.”

The track listing for the release runs as follows:

01 – “To The Great Beyond
02 – “Hollow Convictions
03 – “Killing Of Leviathan
04 – “No Devotion
05 – “I Feel Alive Again
06 – “Prophets Of Treason

The band themselves were directly impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, having had to postpone their spring tour with August Burns Red and Light The Torch.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch