BPMDScott Diussa

BPMD (Overkill, Vio-lence, Etc.) Debut Cover Of Aerosmith’s “Toys In The Attic”


BPMD, the supergroup comprised of Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth (Overkill), Phil Demmel (Vio-lence/ex-Machine Head), Mike Portnoy (The Winery Dogs, ex-Dream Theater, etc.) and Mark Menghi (Metal Allegiance), have unveiled the full track listing for their debut album “American Made“, In addition to that, a June 12th release date has been set on Napalm Records.

Together they have put a metal spin on a number of American classic rock tracks. The first offering to be shared from the album is the below video for the band’s take on Aerosmith‘s Toys In The Attic“. That video was directed by Victor Borachuk. Bobby Blitz commented of the choice:

“I remember waaaaaaaaaaay back when Overkill formed, we were cutting our teeth on covers as I was finding my way around the mic. The Aerosmith covers were right in my wheelhouse, so when Mike [Portnoy] picked ‘Toys’ to cover, I was like… ‘Hell Yea’!”

Guitarist Phil Demmel added:

“It was tricky because Aerosmith have two guitarists, Joe Perry and Brad Whitford, playing different things. So, as one guitar player, I had to pick a medium place between the two that sounded good. I thrashed it up a little by adding a lot of down picking and some gallops and triplets.”

Pre-orders for the album have been made available here.

American Made” track listing:

01 – “Wang Dang Sweet Poontang” (Ted Nugent cover)
02 – “Toys In The Attic” (Aerosmith cover)
03 – “Evil” (Cactus/Willie Dixon cover)
04 – “Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers” (ZZ Top cover)
05 – “Saturday Night Special” (Lynyrd Skynyrd cover)
06 – “Tattoo Vampire” (Blue Öyster Cult cover) (feat. Buck Dharma)
07 – “D.O.A.” (Van Halen cover)
08 – “Walk Away” (James Gang cover)
09 – “Never in My Life” (Mountain cover)
10 – “We’re An American Band” (Grand Funk Railroad cover)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch