Children Of BodomMarek Sabogal

Children Of Bodom Detail New Album “Hexed”


Children Of Bodom have unveiled the details for their upcoming new album “Hexed” that is set to arrive in stores on March 08th through Nuclear Blast. Recording sessions for the effort took place at Danger Johnny Studios in Finland with Mikko Karmila (Nightwish, Amorphis) once again overseeing the bulk of the sessions sans the keyboards, which were overseen by Janne Wirman. The band’s frontman/guitarist Alexi Laiho commented of the forthcoming release:

“People have said that the album is generally catchier. So I started thinking about that, perhaps the song structures are easier to grasp on initial listen. But there’s some crazy shit in there, almost progressive or at least technical. There are certain melodies across the album that could have come from jazz songs, although they’re completely metal with us, of course (laughs).”

- Advertisement -

Bassist Henkka Blacksmith also shared his thoughts:

“For me, it has always been very hard to describe our new music. In a way it always feels familiar, but the new stuff also always surprises me. Here we have something that’s very Bodom, but somehow we haven’t done this kind of stuff maybe ever. Then again, someone said that there’s somehow similar vibe to what Follow the Reaper had. I don’t know. Anyway, we had a really hard time choosing the songs for the two videos, I guess that’s a positive problem.”

The group recruited Denis Forkas to handle the cover art for the release which can be seen below along with the track listing. Blacksmith himself said of the cover art:

“For some years already I have wanted to try a different approach with our cover art. We are so used to digital art so that is really hard to do something else. Doing it all the way with computer is somewhat safe and convenient. This time we all agreed to try it old school.

We found this cool dude and gave him simple instructions. The cover has to be purple and the reaper has to be central. Half a year later we got his work, and with little tweaking, we have the cover of Hexed. It is very different from what we are used to, even the Reaper looks different, but at the same time very spooky.”

Pre-orders for the album will launch on December 07th. In other news, plans are being laid for a U.S. tour in the spring with a European tour to follow in the summer.

Children Of Bodom - Hexed

01 – “The Road
02 – “Under Grass And Clover
03 – “Glass Houses
04 – “Hecate’s Nightmare
05 – “Kick In The Spleen
06 – “Platitudes And Barren Words
07 – “Hexed
08 – “Relapse (The Nature Of My Crime)
09 – “Say Never Look Back
10 – “Soon Departed
11 – “Knuckleduster
12 – “I Worship Chaos” (live)
13 – “Morrigan” (live)
14 – “Knuckleduster” (remix)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch