High On FireJen Rosenstein

High On Fire Detail New Album “Electric Messiah”, Debut Title Track


High On Fire will release their eighth studio album “Electric Messiah” on October 05th via eOne Music. The news of the album’s forthcoming arrival is accompanied by a premiere of the title track from the effort, which you can check out now over at NPR. Pre-orders for the album have also been launched at this location.

Speaking of how late Motörhead vocalist/bassist Ian “Lemmy” Kilmister helped inspire the album’s new title, High On Fire‘s frontman/guitarist Matt Pike commented:

“I had a dream about Lemmy. When Lemmy was still alive I always got compared to Lemmy, so I had this dream where he got pissed at me.

He gave me a bunch of shit, basically, and was hazing me. Not that he didn’t approve of me, but like I was being hazed. The song is me telling the world that I could never fill Lemmy’s shoes because Lemmy’s Lemmy. I wanted to pay homage to him in a great way. And it turned out to be such a good title that the guys said we should call the album ‘Electric Messiah.'”

The band once again recorded the outing with Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou handling the production duties with sessions for it having wrapped up this past March. Pike himself has already given this approaching new record high praise, offering:

“This band keeps evolving. This is by far the best record I’ve ever made with the High On Fire stamp. It just keeps getting better and better. We just try to outdo ourselves. I’m not saying the old work is progressively worse, it’s just that we get better every time instead of burning out, which is a common finality for a lot of bands. This album is fucking excellent, I just love everything on it, I’m not bummed about anything. It’s great when you think that about your record.”

High On Fire - Electric Messiah

01 – “Spewn From The Earth
02 – “Steps Of The Ziggurat/House Of Enlil
03 – “Electric Messiah
04 – “Sanctioned Annihilation
05 – “The Pallid Mask
06 – “God Of The Godless
07 – “Freebooter
08 – “The Witch And The Christ
09 – “Drowning Dog

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch