Alice In ChainsPamela Littky

Alice In Chains Detail New Album “Rainier Fog”, Premiere “So Far Under”


Alice In Chains have finally unveiled the details for their new album “Rainier Fog” , which has been lined up for an August 24th release date. The group had Nick Raskulinecz (Deftones, Foo Fighters) produce the effort while Joe Barresi (Queens Of The Stone Age, Tool) was brought on to mix it. Pre-orders are available now here and a stream of a new song titled “So Far Under” from it has been launched below.

The band’s guitarist/vocalist Jerry Cantrell has confirmed to that the title refers to Mount Rainier in the band’s home state of Washington. In the same article it’s also revealed that the wait for the album was in part caused by the band signing a new deal with BMG. Cantrell also disclosed that Chris DeGarmo (ex-Queensrÿche) guests on the track “Drone“.

- Advertisement -

Speaking of finding inspiration this far into his career, Cantrell told the aforementioned publication:

“Maybe it’s a little hard because you have already said so much. I can’t write ‘Them Bones‘ again, I can’t write about my dad again. I can’t write about my brother again. I can’t write about that ex-girlfriend again. But it’s easy to be pissed off about something. Stuff still makes me emotional. Stuff still makes me love. I experience things. I see people going through things. Shit happens to you. There’s still stuff to grab, but it’s challenging to me. It’s always the part where I feel I’m stumbling around in the fucking dark.”

Meanwhile, the band’s fellow vocalist/guitarist William DuVall commented of this latest track, “So Far Under“:

“It’s about feeling completely up against it – outnumbered, surrounded, facing seemingly unbeatable odds and being really pissed off about it. It was inspired by personal circumstances, as well as events in the wider world. But it’s not as resigned to defeat as it may seem. The lyric is a cold, hard assessment of a difficult situation but the music has a message all its own.

There’s still room to flip the script. Every aspect of writing and recording this song will always be remembered with a lot of joy – from recording the basic tracks and the guitar solo at Studio X in Seattle to doing further overdubs at Nick Raskulinecz’s studio in rural Tennessee. Everyone in the band and our studio team really stepped up and knocked it out of the park on this one. We’re extremely proud of this song and the entire album.”

Alice In Chains - Rainier Fog

01 – “The One You Know
02 – “Rainier Fog
03 – “Red Giant
04 – “Fly
05 – “Drone” (feat. Chris DeGarmo)
06 – “Deaf Ears Blind Eyes
07 – “Maybe
08 – “So Far Under
09 – “Never Fade
10 – “All I Am

Alice In Chains have extensive touring plans booked with dates available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch