Child BiteRuby Scholling Photography

Child Bite Announce “Burnt Offerings” Rarities Set, Phil Anselmo Guests On Various Covers


Child Bite will release a new 2-CD set of covers & rarities titled “Burnt Offerings” on May 11th through Phil Anselmo‘s Housecore Records. The set compiles 28 tracks from throughout their career, complete with a number of unspecified covers featuring Anselmo himself. The band’s frontman Shawn Knight commented:

“Here we have all of our loose ends. Lots of great stuff that’s either out-of-print or never came out for one reason or another. This serves as a mass grave for all of our musical orphans… This whole project came to mind when both our guitarist and drummer left the band last summer. We had put out so many random bits and pieces over the years, not to mention a full album’s worth of unreleased songs, that it really felt like a good time to take stock and officially wrap up that chapter of the band.

- Advertisement -

The first six tracks [from disc 1] are from vinyl-only split EPs we’ve put out. We’ve found that our strongest writing comes in small batches. These songs were written and recorded as pairs, and are some of our best tunes, not to mention some of the best sounding recordings we’ve ever had. Tracks seven through ten were meant for what became Negative Noise, but soon after we recorded these demos we got a new drummer and we started moving in a different direction.

These quick studio recordings have been collecting dust now for nearly five years… Tracks eleven through thirteen were recorded down at Anselmo‘s place on our way south for a big tour with Voivod and King Parrot. A couple members felt that the songs weren’t ready for prime time so we held off from using them until now. I wouldn’t be surprised if we revisited one or two of these in the future.”

Burnt Offerings” track listing:

Disc 1:
01 – “The Will To Disappear
02 – “Stag Thrall
03 – “Gang Omega
04 – “Sick & Subhuman
05 – “Prowl
06 – “Modern Torment
07 – “Abstract Interior Putrefaction
08 – “Feeding Tube Blues
09 – “Stroke the Negative
10 – “Carrion Tabernacle
11 – “Throb Forever
12 – “Corrosive Devotion
13 – “As I Approach The Void
14 – “Jerk Off Your Life

Disc 2:
01 – “My War
02 – “Police Truck
03 – “Earth A.D. / We Bite
04 – “I Against I / Jam
05 – “Guilty of Being White / It Follows
06 – “Hey!
07 – “Don’t
08 – “Unbridled
09. – “Siege” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
10 – “Morrisey” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
11 – “Chump Change” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
12 – “Radio Hit” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
13 – “Song #5” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
14 – “The Usurper” (feat. Phil Anselmo)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch