Mastodon Detail “Cold Dark Place” EP, Once Again Appear On ‘Game Of Thrones’


Mastodon have revealed the details for their upcoming new release, “Cold Dark Place“. The effort has been confirmed to be a 4 song EP featuring three songs that were originally written during the “Once More ‘Round The Sun” sessions with an additional track, “Toe To Toes“, composed during the sessions for their latest outing, “Emperor Of Sand“.

The band’s own Brent Hinds previously referred to the effort as being a ‘solo’ album that he recorded with his bandmates Brann Dailor and Troy Sanders and it was inspired by a “nasty breakup” he went through. Reprise will have the effort in stores on September 22nd on digital/CD formats with a limited edition 10″ picture disc coming on October 27th. A mini documentary on the making for the cover art for the EP done by Richey Beckett can be found below.

Toe To Toes” will be made available on September 01st and will also appear on an upcoming 7″ to subscribers of Revolver magazine. That publication will be relaunching with their September 12th issue and feature Mastodon on the cover as part of a special four separate cover shot—one for each member of the band. The included 7″ will feature “Toe To Toes” on the a-side and an unreleased instrumental version of it on the b-side.

Cold Dark Place” track listing:

01 – “North Side Star
02 – “Blue Walsh
03 – “Toe To Toes
04 – “Cold Dark Place

In other news, last night (August 27th) saw members of Mastodon once again appear as wights alongside their White Walker masters on this season of ‘Game Of Thrones‘. Towards the end of the episode, Hinds and Bill Kelliher were briefly visible and can be seen in the below screencap.

Mastodon On Game Of Thrones

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch